map placeholder

The Red Lion - Chester

Church Road , Dodleston, Chester, CH4 9NG

((((* British
  • The Red Lion - Chester - Chester
  • The Red Lion - Chester - Chester
  • The Red Lion - Chester - Chester
  • The Red Lion - Chester - Chester
  • The Red Lion - Chester - Chester
  •  - Chester
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Great service excellent meal

Mily 03 June 2019
from Chester

View all 32 reviews

Potentially dating back to 1737, The Red Lion – Chester has won 2 Gold Awards at the Chester Food and Drink Festival, serving well-loved British pub cuisine. In a beautiful, ivy-enclosed building, there is a cosy log-fire for winter, and eclectic decorations such as art, candles and classic oak beams. With a view on to the eye-catching pub, you can also enjoy the food from the pretty al fresco garden.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Red Lion menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Red Lion ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Red Lion is just 10 minutes’ drive from Chester.

The Red Lion - Chester

Church Road , Dodleston, Chester, CH4 9NG

Contact +44 1244661636
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Chester

Customer reviews for The Red Lion - Chester

4.2 ((((* (based on 32 reviews)
84% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (19)
  • lunch (15)
  • value (13)
  • private dining (8)
  • child friendly (7)
  • large parties (7)
  • afternoon tea (5)
  • romantic (5)
  • trendy (4)
  • views (4)
  • al fresco (2)
  • business (2)
  • luxury (1)
  • ((((( 21 August 2016 by David from Llay

    Excellent service from Ben. I had the chicken pie which was really very good, and filling. Accompanied by a pint of Doom Bar.
    Di had a hamburger which she said was one of the best she had tasted.
    Our all over experience was excellent, and we will certainly return.

  • ((((( 12 August 2016 by Lesley from Rossett

    Have a wonderful evening.staff very attentive.food superb.love this pub.it was our 36th anniversary so staff made us feel very special

  • (((** 9 August 2016 by Ian from Buckley

    Overall disappointing. Found. Hair in one of the starters, the staff dealt with it and was duly taken off the bill. 2 sirloin steaks one of which looked like a lovely fillet steak whilst the other looked like rump. On the positive the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • (((** 4 August 2016 by Mark from Chester

    We haven't been to the red lion for about 2 years and were surprised that the restaurant was mostly empty at 2pm to 4pm on Sunday. It used to be very busy. The food was reasonably priced but nothing stood out on the menu as exciting to eat.. All of the food we ordered seemed quite bland and the staff didn't pay enough attention to when the table needed clearing and if anyone wanted another drink etc. In summary, an empty restaurant with slow service.

  • ((*** 28 June 2016 by Lindsay from Hope

    Disappointing. We haven't dined here for a long time and thought we would try it again with the 20% offer emailed to us. However the food was disappointing and as we were unable to get wifi on our phones due to poor reception could not use the 20% discount

  • ((((( 11 June 2016 by Sheri from Chester

    Great food, well cooked and great service.

  • (((** 8 June 2016 by Chris from Ellesmere Port

    The staff were very courteous and made us feel welcome

  • ((((* 5 April 2016 by Alison from wrexham

    lovely rural setting nice atmosphere helpful friendly staff , very cozy made to feel welcome from arrival , nice food and

  • ((*** 23 February 2016 by James from Chester

    Food excellent but beer flat

  • ((((( 1 December 2015 by Robert from Chester

    Excellent all round.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant