Reviews of The Red Lion - Birmingham

3.5
(based on 39 reviews)
Red Lion Street Alvechurch, Birmingham, West Midlands, B48 7LG
39 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Valerie J from Redditch
    24 June 2018

    Very welcoming..pleasant, helpful staff.. nothing was too much trouble...lovely food,well presented. My friend and I both had the chicken pie with the best puff pastry topping we had tasted for a long time !... The mini pud/coffee then rounded our meal off perfectly!

  • By Elaine H from Birmingham
    17 June 2018

    Good food, excellent price for Fathers Day meal. Young Staff exceptional second time we have eaten here very good.

  • By Sandy F from Alvechurch
    5 April 2018

    A super gastro pub with a real country feel. Very friendly service and tasty food

  • By Clive C from Redditch
    4 April 2018

    God food at reazonable price. Good service.

  • By Kate K from Birmingham
    4 February 2018

    Fantastic Sunday lunch.i always look forward to eat there.

  • By Carole G from Birmingham
    26 January 2018

    Comfy seating, good service and great food.

  • By Claire C from Redditch
    24 November 2017

    Upon arrival the computer was not working so they could not find my booking. Luckily I had my reservation text to confirm this. When ordering our food we was told the filet steak was out of stock so had to order something else. We were not courtesy checked at all and was disappointed when asked for some mayonnaise we was given a jar, how many other customers knives have been in this jar I wonder? On ordering puddings we had to get someone over to take our order and they took 30mins to arrive which 1 was sent back as custard was cold. Expect more from a vintage inn so very disappointed glad I paid less than the next customer as I used my staff discount else I would have been asking for a refund. I won't be returning.

  • By Lisa T from Redditch
    24 November 2017

    Very poor vegetarian options the one I chose I was told had sold out & no alternative was suggested, the waiter went back to the kitchen came back & said they could do it with out the cheese sauce which was fine but then when it came out I had to ask for the sides I had ordered. On the whole not a very good service & poor food options

  • By Robert N from Kinver
    29 October 2017

    Recommended by my daughter as we were doing a walk in the area.pub was lovely and cosy and warm after such a long walk .only down side they didnt have any scallops for starters after we ordered them .then main meal luke warm followed by no creme brulee for pudding after ordering.

  • By David R from Birmingham
    11 July 2017

    Food & waiter service brilliant