map placeholder

The Ramblers Rest

Outwood Lane, Coulsdon, CR5 3NP

((()* British
  • The Ramblers Rest - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  •  - Surrey
  • The Ramblers Rest - Surrey
  • The Ramblers Rest - Surrey
  • The Ramblers Rest - Surrey
  • The Ramblers Rest - Surrey
  • The Ramblers Rest - Surrey
  • The Ramblers Rest - Surrey
  • The Ramblers Rest - Surrey
  • The Ramblers Rest - Surrey
  • The Ramblers Rest - Surrey
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £28
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 11:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 22:30.

Food good
A bit pricey
Service good

Angela 23 February 2019
from London

View all 38 reviews

Housed within a beautiful Tudor building and retaining some of its original features, The Ramblers Rest is a gastro pub with an al fresco dining area, serving modern British food in a country-style setting. The lively bar area with its exposed brick walls, wooden beams & an open fireplace, offers a homey setting for guests to enjoy a drink.

With chefs given the opportunity to train at cookery schools in Spain and Italy, The Ramblers Rest menu features modern signature recipes made using the finest available ingredients. As well as creative daily-changing specials, favourites include king prawn, crab and chorizo linguine, or spit-roasted chicken with lemon & garlic confit. A kids’ menu and Sunday roasts also feature, and desserts include rich vanilla and chocolate gelato with home-baked cookies.

The result of a treasured partnership with Rothschild wine merchants, the cellar showcases many fine wines, while token real ales and premium spirits are found at The Ramblers Rest bar. Nostalgic British nibbles and eclectic sharing platters bursting with international flavours offer more laidback dining.

The Ramblers Rest in Surrey is a 12-minute drive from Chipstead Railway Station.

The Ramblers Rest

Outwood Lane, Coulsdon, CR5 3NP

Contact +44 1737552661
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Surrey

See all restaurants in Coulsdon

Customer reviews for The Ramblers Rest

3.7 ((()* (based on 38 reviews)
86% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (26)
  • lunch (21)
  • child friendly (9)
  • romantic (9)
  • al fresco (8)
  • large parties (7)
  • trendy (5)
  • value (4)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • private dining (3)
  • views (2)
  • business (1)
  • entertainment (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • ((((( 26 March 2016 by Mary from Sutton

    Delicious food

  • ((*** 18 February 2016 by Alison from Horsham

    Unfortunately the restaurant area was very cold....the fire was unlit and I had to keep my coat on over a jumper. My step mum and I shared a Mediterranean mezze to start and were told that they had run out of humus so we were given two portions of tatziki instead - not really good enough seeing as this was at midday , the very start of lunch service. To top it off the fried aubergine slices were not aubergine but a chickpea bhaji ...so disappointing. The main courses were better, lots of good sea bass ( although I have to say the pineapple dressing was very sickly sweet and ruined the dish ) both myself and the lady at the next table didn't manage to cut through our tender stem broccoli - the stems obviously not that tender! my stepmum's pie a very good .

  • (((** 2 February 2016 by Angela from London

    Starter and dessert vg. However, the fillet steak was tasteless although tender and with 2 small mushrooms and a pile of stodgy layered potato was such a disappointment. I would never order it again.

  • ((((( 17 January 2016 by Fleur from London Borough of Sutton

    Lovely pub restaurant. Great food, great atmosphere.

  • ((((( 9 January 2016 by Mike from Coulsdon

    Excellent food. Excellent service. Great atmosphere. Couldn't ask for more.

  • (((** 5 January 2016 by Jas from London Borough of Sutton

    My portion of roast pork was rather modest and my wife's lamb was generous but tough! Vegetables and Starters were excellent. £50+ a bit steep.

  • (((** 4 January 2016 by Liz from Banstead

    Lovely atmosphere and great staff but shame some things ran out of on menu.

  • ((((( 19 December 2015 by Sharon from Croydon

    The food was excellent . All the staff are great and very friendly.. The resturant has a great relaxed attmosphere.

  • (((** 9 December 2015 by Alison from Carshalton

    I love this pub, and I enjoyed an excellent roast lunch this week, but sadly one of my guests found a small broken piece of china in hers, and was put off eating the rest. My husband's potatoes were burned. A shame, as the meal was otherwise excellent, the service was good and the ambience is charming. I'd recommend to a friend, but from now on with reservations.

  • ((((( 18 November 2015 by Peter from Purley

    Food excellent, staff polite, pleasant and helpful

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant