map placeholder

The Quills

30 High Street, Rochester, ME1 1LD

(((() American
  • The Quills - Kent
  • The Quills - Kent
  • The Quills - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 08:30 - 15:00
Friday & Saturday: 08:30 - 15:00 & 17:00 - 22:30
Sunday: 08:30 - 15:00 & 17:00 - 22:00.

Excellent food, excellent service. It's my local go-to place if I want excellent home cooked food

Paul 28 August 2019
from Rochester, kent

View all 102 reviews

Once a Tudor yeoman’s house, The Quills in Rochester is now a popular restaurant, serving crowd-pleasing British cuisine. Sit in the beamed dining room surrounded by antique oak doors that the owners rescued from Rochester Cathedral when it was refurbished.

Blending familiar ingredients with special touches, all brought together in a rustic style, The Quills menu includes the likes maple-glazed pork ribs or Mexican spicy bean and avocado for breakfast, or a burger topped with BBQ beef brisket and a side of truffled mac & cheese. Chocolate brownie layered with cherry pie filling is amongst the enticing desserts.

Brimming with history, find The Quills a 10-minute walk from Rochester Train Station.

The Quills

30 High Street, Rochester, ME1 1LD

Contact +44 1634407402
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Kent

See all restaurants in Rochester

Customer reviews for The Quills

4.7 (((() (based on 102 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((((
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((((
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • lunch (68)
  • breakfast (63)
  • dinner (48)
  • value (45)
  • child friendly (35)
  • afternoon tea (33)
  • romantic (18)
  • large parties (17)
  • trendy (17)
  • private dining (14)
  • business (11)
  • al fresco (7)
  • views (7)
  • luxury (6)
  • entertainment (4)
  • ((((( 5 May 2019 by Gillian from Rochester

    Friendly staff, great service, lovely menu. Thank you, we will return.

  • ((((( 30 April 2019 by Michael from Rochester

    We dine here regularly and enjoy the friendly service.
    The food is excellent and I particularly enjoyed the Quills Burger!

  • ((((* 22 April 2019 by Rachael from Rochester

    Very quiet when we dined. Nice fast service.

  • ((((( 12 April 2019 by Sarah from Longfield

    Quills is a favourite venue for our networking group. The service is always prompt and extremely friendly. Their menu is varied and with some very interesting and tasty options. Highly recommended.

  • ((((* 22 February 2019 by Lois from Gravesend

    Great breakfast menu, nice coffee. We met up with a group of girlfriends with differing dietary requirements, lots of options offered on their menus gluten free /vegetarian ect.

    We have been a couple of time this year and only criticism is it’s been rather cold in there and we had to put our coats on after a while, the loos are freezing. They do have heaters but as it a old building they are very inefficient.

    However just wrap up and enjoy the food like we all did. ??

  • ((((( 9 February 2019 by Janice from Rochester

    Friendly staff and very tasty food.

  • (((** 25 January 2019 by Janice from Rochester

    We were welcomed on arrival and shown to our table. The staff were very helpful and pleasant however we were very disappointed that the lunchtime menu items that we had enjoyed last year were no longer available. We were informed the menu had changed at the end of last year and items like jacket potatoes were no longer available and the menu was more biased to main meals.
    We had chosen this restaurant as it had great lunchtime snacks which suited us.

  • ((((* 20 January 2019 by Amanda from Rochester

    Lovely meal, friendly staff. Will be back again.

  • ((((( 16 December 2018 by Jonathan from Gravesend

    Great food! A real find!

  • ((((* 27 November 2018 by Rachael from Rochester

    Delicious food. Quite slow service but friendly waiting staff. I would still recommend to friends.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant