map placeholder

The Plough Inn

24 Riverside, Eynsford, Dartford, DA4 0AE

((((* British
  • The Plough Inn - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  • The Plough Inn - Kent
  •  - Kent
  • The Plough Inn - Kent
  • The Plough Inn - Kent
  • The Plough Inn - Kent
  • The Plough Inn - Kent
  • The Plough Inn - Kent
  • The Plough Inn - Kent
  • The Plough Inn - Kent
  • The Plough Inn - Kent
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £28
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 11:00 - 22:00
Friday: 11:00 - 23:30
Saturday:11:00 - 00:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:00.

We love The Plough mid week treat it’s good value for money when you are a limited income

Trish 10 May 2019
from Ensyfird

View all 74 reviews

A refurbished gastro pub in the historical village of Eynsford, The Plough Inn serves a selection of modern British dishes. With sheepskin-covered chairs, exposed stone walls & leather armchairs, the bar & restaurant provide plenty of cosy corners to enjoy a drink or a hearty meal.

With chefs given the opportunity to train at cookery schools in Spain and Italy, The Plough Inn menu features modern signature recipes made using the finest ingredients. As well as creative daily-changing specials, favourites include king prawn, crab and chorizo linguine, or spit-roasted chicken with lemon & garlic confit. A kids’ menu and Sunday roasts also feature, and desserts include rich vanilla and chocolate gelato with home-baked cookies.

The result of a treasured partnership with Rothschild wine merchants, the cellar showcases many fine wines, while token real ales and premium spirits are found at The Plough Inn bar. Nostalgic British nibbles and sharing platters bursting with international flavours offer more laidback dining.

The Plough Inn in Kent is a 3-minute drive from Lullingstone Castle & World Garden, a 9-minute walk from Eynsford Castle, and a 10-minute walk from Eynsford Rail Station.

The Plough Inn

24 Riverside, Eynsford, Dartford, DA4 0AE

Contact +44 1322862281
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Kent

See all restaurants in Dartford

Customer reviews for The Plough Inn

3.8 ((((* (based on 74 reviews)
86% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (48)
  • lunch (41)
  • views (22)
  • romantic (19)
  • value (13)
  • al fresco (11)
  • trendy (10)
  • large parties (9)
  • private dining (9)
  • child friendly (7)
  • luxury (7)
  • business (6)
  • afternoon tea (2)
  • entertainment (2)
  • ((((* 1 January 2017 by Sue from Dartford

    The restuarant is small and cosy and the furs on the chairs adds a very warm feeling to the ambience. The food was well presented, staff attentive and provided a good service.

    I had the lamb with beetroot as main course, which was lovely. My friend had the chicken and also enjoyed that.

    Would definitely go there again.

  • ((((( 17 December 2016 by Brian from Tonbridge

    atmosphere,service,food - all reached a high standard - we will visit again

  • (**** 10 November 2016 by Hayley from Oxford

    I'm afraid to say the visit was deplorable... I really am sorry to say that everything that occurred on Saturday afternoon/ night was awful. My family and I catch up 4 times a year with all of the children & we book nights like this weeks in advance.

    We arrived promptly at 4:30 for our table but were advised that our table was not ready, which initially was acceptable.

    We were then seated at 4:50 and waited a noticeable while for our drinks order to be taken, so long in fact that we ordered our mains at the same time. The children's meals came out again, after a noticeable while. We had to ask for the drinks (forgotten) & then add more to it as others had been finished. The children were finished before we realised that the adult meals were still not delivered. At that point, enough was enough. I spoke to management who advised they were ready & would come up shortly. He advised the children's meals always go through with starters (of which we didn't have) so I didn't buy that excuse.

    Two meals were cold, we were nearly delayed for the firework show. They offered to cook two more meals but at 5:50 we simply didn't have time. Finally, our waitress came over eating & asked to borrow our ketchup!! (Must have been on a break - before our meals were delivered) The whole slate was wiped and we won't be returning. Such a shame as it wasn't even busy (by that I mean many tables were still free)

    Beautiful pub, gorgeous fire but no management!

  • ((((( 9 November 2016 by Pat from Eynsford

    Table for 4 Birthday meal. Service very good Food very good. The Wagou burger went down well. The lamb rump wears excellent. Very relaxed and no rush.

  • (**** 1 November 2016 by Maggie from Dartford

    Very poor, wagu burger was cold also ordered a flat mushroom which was just mushrooms chopped up, my steak pie came with mash and should have come carrots and greens I didn't want carrots,they forgot the greens!! When I asked for them again they then said they only had peas left which I don't like. By then my food was cold. This was my husband's 65 birthday and it was meant to be a treat !! The drinks came to£22.00 we also got a cab there that was£28.00 so£40-00 later no food a very disappointing experience.

  • ((((* 1 November 2016 by Sean from London

    Relaxed atmosphere nice food

  • ((((* 15 October 2016 by Amy from west kingsdown

    so we've been here before and it was lush. gorgeous food lovely atmosphere. i went here last night and asked if they would be able to seat us somewhere like in a booth or a relatively quiet area as it was a group of us for my fiancees birthday.

    food was lovely. wine gorgeous and it was a lovely night.

    the real issue was with the staffing if im honest. i dont expect to be spending over £200 on a meal with severely lacking staff around. i tried five times to get someone to come over so i could order drinks. i noticed they had a recruitment for staff sign up, you could tell service was suffering due to shortage of staff.

    they were really lovely people, all credit to them, but there was just not enough of them.

    in the end we were going to have to get up and pay as the bar as we waited for another good 30 minutes to get paid up.


    apart from the lack of serving staff it was lovely. really recommend the Mediterranean mezze starter

  • ((((* 15 September 2016 by Steve from Horton Kirby

    Good meal, good staff, food slow on arriving

  • (**** 1 September 2016 by Ceri from London Borough of Bromley

    A little disappointed, we've been before and enjoyed it but yesterday we were disappointed. Unfortunately the afternoon was spoilt by a parade of travellers, riding horses through the brook and the road causing traffic disruption to the extent that customers couldn't leave or enter the village and young families who had enjoyed the afternoon watching their kids play in the water had to leave because of these travellers. The food I'm sorry to say wasn't up to standard, this I presume was due to staffing issues as posters explaining this were displayed throughout the premises. Not a relaxing day we had hoped for, we had to wait to leave the village whilst police tried to move the travellers on. Not an experience we would rush back for I'm sorry to say.

  • ((((( 31 August 2016 by Leah from London

    Thank you to Pavia - Excellent service, great food.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant