Reviews of The Plough - Fen Ditton

3.9
(based on 52 reviews)
Green End, Fen Ditton, Cambridge, East of England, CB5 8SX
52 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Christopher J from Wigton
    13 March 2020

    We had booked a table for ten following a funeral, as it was twenty adults from the funeral actually arrived. The staff were very accommodating and moved tables organised drinks and coordinated food orders without any problems at all.

  • By Marie D from Lincoln
    11 January 2020

    What a lovely place. A last minute booking after trawling google for places to eat, and I was pleasantly surprised. The service was very good, really nice staff. The food was lovely; not your average pub food, that little bit of wow was added. Although it was pitch black, the location looked lovely and I would like to see it in the summer. Certainly worth a visit and I will again when I’m next in Cambridge.

  • By Jane D from CAMBRIDGE
    13 September 2019

    My friend had the wrong lunch which was replaced fairly quickly. Some staff seemed inexperienced but everyone has to learn. The till wouldn't work properly on getting the bill; there was a small overcharge which we questioned and the manager didn't think it seemed to matter and certainly wasn't in any way apologetic or gracious. I have been to the Plough about 6 times and will not return for eating.

  • By Lesley J from Cambridge
    7 July 2019

    Good. Food was good, a little too much on the plate. Service was excellent- we were very well looked after.

  • By Devs D from Cambridge
    15 May 2019

    It was very surprising to have waited soo long to be seated when the restaurant was practically empty at the time save for about 5 dining tables outside. There was a couple before who were very unhappy and told us they've been waiting for a long time. It didn't make a difference that we booked in advance. Despite the tables being empty for a while, these weren't promptly cleared. So we were shown a table that would've been be too cramped for 4 people dining, as everything else would require cleaningand the girl showing us wasn't keen. We insisted and chose one of the dirty tables. I asked the girl if we caught them at a time they're short staffed but she said no, they're OK and we're lucky we arrived at a not-so-busy time. The waiter was a bit abrupt, seemed struggling to place the orders on the tablet and didn't get it all right in the end. No lime or lemon due to allergy was noted as no fruits. Despite making it clear that kids meal to be served ASAP, we had our starters and nearly done with mains before our hungry kids got their pizzas. There was a mix up. Overall, pork belly with scallops wasn't worth it (pork was dry and chewy, broccoli overcooked, bacon burnt (to the waiter: "crispy" is not same as black, and thanks for replacing it), neither was the chocolate bomb, the "wagyu" burger was soggy with the sauce and the cheese was like those plastic cheese slice. Had to ask for cutlery a few times. Positives: good camembert and chutney, good ice-cream that saved the bland bomb, the desserts arrived much quicker than the other courses (and nearly same time as the kids'), great location on a sunny day near the Cam with accessible parking. The latter was the main reason why my injured husband chose this restaurant for his birthday dinner. To be honest we had such bad service the last time (though food was better) so I tried to dissuade him. I wish I was more insistent. After such experience, don't think we are coming back.

  • By Maggie N from Bedford
    21 February 2019

    Booking service excellent and convenient. Restaurant service excellent. Fish cakes delicious together with chunky chips. Loved the mini choc brownie with a scoop of ice cream, thanks.

  • By Linda M from Milton
    19 January 2019

    Had a really lovely time dining at the Plough we have dined here a few times in the past but our experience then wasn’t good??. That was over a couple of years ago, we went back last month for an occasion and was really great ??. So decided to book again as we had some friends over from abroad, and again very good dining experience the staff were fantastic very attentive and helpful ???? It was quite busy and still got there full attention when needed so thumbs up to the staff and the lovely food. Thank you

  • By Tracy W from Cambridge
    12 November 2018

    Nice setting. Polite staff and good food

  • By Linda C from Yateley
    11 August 2018

    Comfortable and not too noisy. Good menu selection especially vegan menu. Let down by lack lustre service.

  • By Louise O from Cambridge
    6 July 2018

    Excellent early evening meal at the Plough. Weather was nice so we managed to get a table outside. Food delicious and service good.