map placeholder

The Plough

2 The High Street, Coton, Cambridge, CB23 7PL

(((() British
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
  •  - Cambridge
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 21:30.

Great food in the sunshine on the lovely terrace. Goat’s cheese starter a particular highlight.

Joe 01 September 2019
from Bury St Edmunds

View all 419 reviews

Found nestled in the quaint village of Coton, 3 miles from Cambridge, The Plough seamlessly balances pub food and fine dining. The Plough in Coton is a charming cornerstone of the community offering summertime al fresco dining and a popular Sunday roast.

Warm haggis with roquette and tarragon, fresh apple and mustard sauce is a favourite starter, and there are regularly-changing specials for something one-off. Main courses at The Plough near Cambridge include pub favourites such as fish and chips, along with inventive options like fennel, cucumber and hazelnut salad with brioche croutons.

The desserts on The Plough menu comprise classic favourites, such as apple crumble with custard, and crème brulee with boozy prunes. A selection of light bites, including casual options such as pizza and sandwiches, is also available.

This historic building offsets original low ceilings and gnarled beams with contemporary embellishments. The Plough in Fen Ditton is full of character and a 15-minute drive from Cambridge.

The Plough

2 The High Street, Coton, Cambridge, CB23 7PL

Contact +44 1954210489
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Cambridge

Customer reviews for The Plough

4.3 (((() (based on 419 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (272)
  • lunch (255)
  • al fresco (123)
  • value (89)
  • child friendly (82)
  • private dining (70)
  • romantic (70)
  • large parties (63)
  • business (59)
  • trendy (56)
  • luxury (28)
  • afternoon tea (26)
  • entertainment (11)
  • views (8)
  • breakfast (3)
  • (((** 4 June 2019 by Patrick from March

    The food quality was good. Asparagus starter good size but the sauce was too thin to cling to the asparagus. Main course Hake was amazingly tasty fish. Too many watery courgettes Dauphinoise potatoes would have helped and complimented well. Dessert Lemon tart was lovely in taste but exceptionally mean in portion size. Value for money good. There seems to be inconsistency In portion sizes. Fish and chips huge, Hake and courgette small in comparison. Return visit maybe, but not if I was hungry.

  • ((((( 31 May 2019 by Sandrine from LYON

    The food was delicious (we had fish and chips and hake with courgettes and an amazing pear poached in vanilla and served with a berry and mint salad), delicately presented in our plates...
    The waitress was thoughtful... that was perfect! We highly recommend!

  • ((((( 28 May 2019 by Becky from Cambridge

    Four of us came here for Sunday Lunch. The staff were friendly and showed us to our table. We thought all our three courses were delicious and the quality of the food justified the slightly higher prices.It was all presented well and we totally enjoyed our experience. We will definitely be back again. Thank you.

  • ((((( 28 May 2019 by Hannah from Peterborough

    Lovely little setting, great food and service. Would highly recommend!!

  • (**** 25 May 2019 by Adrian from Cambridge

    I hadn’t been to The Plough for a couple of years and was looking forward to another enjoyable meal. However the drinks took 25 minutes to arrive and the meal was served 55 minutes after we had placed our order. The final disappointment was the size of portion. My wife’s fish appeared to have been cut in half, and for £16 was a measly portion although tasted fine. So nearly an hours wait for the meal to arrive and consumed in around 7 minutes! We didn’t bother with dessert, deciding to go somewhere else to finish the meal as we were all still hungry. Perhaps if the staff had pointed out the portions were small, we may have added bread and additional side orders to avoid going hungry but instead we left disappointed and hungry and vowing not to return.

  • (((** 25 May 2019 by Michael from CAMBRIDGE

    While the food delivered was good , we were disappointed with the lack vegetables that it came with. These had to be ordered separately.

  • (((** 21 May 2019 by Christopher from Cambridge

    Table for 5. Booking fine. Staff polite. Food not good for some of us.

  • ((((( 15 May 2019 by Kathreen from Cambridge

    My husband and I love The Plough and occasionally take friends and family there for a Sunday lunch. My sister and her partner from Paris were visiting us, so we decided to treat them to a lunch at The Plough. We had an excellent meal, lovely weather, and the personnel was very welcoming. As soon as my sister had taken her first few bites, she commented on how lovely her food tasted. Her partner echoed that and went on to discuss British versus French cuisine. We chimed in and we all agreed that The Plough won it hands down for Britain. The lunch was simply exquisite in how it was presented, its taste and everything. Prices are reasonable, and staff are very friendly. The Plough is a culinary jewel and I hope we will have many more visits there.

  • ((((* 14 May 2019 by Steve from Cambridge

    This is a lovely place a very light and airy dining room with well-spaced tables and intriguing decorative features. Service was first rate, friendly and courteous but very efficient. The standard of the cooking wasn't quite up to that high standard but the overall experience was very good and I would definitely return and recommend to friends and colleagues.

  • ((((( 14 May 2019 by Andrew from Coton

    Great service and food, outdoor terrace and gardens are spectacular. Children’s activity centre us great for families with young children

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant