The Plough

(440 Reviews)
2 The High Street, Coton, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, CB23 7PL
British, European

Top offer

Sunday menu

Subject to availability as displayed within the booking interface. Menu subject to change.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 21:30.

Restaurant description

Found nestled in the quaint village of Coton, 3 miles from Cambridge, The Plough seamlessly balances pub food and fine dining. The Plough in Coton is a charming cornerstone of the community offering summertime al fresco dining and a popular Sunday roast.

Warm haggis with roquette and tarragon, fresh apple and mustard sauce is a favourite starter, and there are regularly-changing specials for something one-off. Main courses at The Plough near Cambridge include pub favourites such as fish and chips, along with inventive options like fennel, cucumber and hazelnut salad with brioche croutons.

The desserts on The Plough menu comprise classic favourites, such as apple crumble with custard, and crème brulee with boozy prunes. A selection of light bites, including casual options such as pizza and sandwiches, is also available.

This historic building offsets original low ceilings and gnarled beams with contemporary embellishments. The Plough in Fen Ditton is full of character and a 15-minute drive from Cambridge.

Customer reviews for The Plough
4.3
(based on 440 reviews)

92%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (31)
  • al fresco (128)
  • breakfast (3)
  • business (62)
  • child friendly (85)
  • dinner (289)
  • entertainment (11)
  • large parties (66)
  • lunch (267)
  • luxury (30)
  • private dining (75)
  • romantic (71)
  • trendy (60)
  • value (96)
  • views (9)
  • By Karen F from Cambridge
    10 December 2019

    Very traditional and relaxed setting with friendly, attentive staff-who were very welcoming on arrival too! The prices of the menu items/courses does reflect the value for money. The food was delicious; I had beer-battered fish with chunky chips and mushy peas for the main course followed by pear and ginger crumble with homemade cinnamon ice cream-this was wonderful!

  • By Rod M from Huntingdon
    25 November 2019

    Very good overall experience. Excellent food. Happened to be in a fairly central table on a bustling evening so personally found it a little noisy.

  • By Diana S from Cambridge
    22 November 2019

    Excellent on all fronts, as you always are including the buffet you did for my late husband's 'wake'. Menu interesting and food great as was the welcome greeting on arrival and the service throughout.

  • By Julie M from Cambridge
    13 November 2019

    The Plough restaurant is lovely with Interesting dishes, nicely presented, and an extensive list of wine by the glass. The service was friendly and professional. The room had a good ambience, good energy but easy to talk despite being busy. Perfect for a lunchtime meeting!

  • By Sarah I from Coton
    13 November 2019

    The restaurant is very nice and the waiting staff attentive and lovely. Both my friend and I had fish and chips and although they were delicious the portions were far to big, - we got 2 huge fillets, as did everyone else who had the fish. We could only eat one each so an awful lot of food waste, which I really hate, I also find that the very sight of an enormous plate of food is really off putting. No wonder we are getting bigger as a nation! Apart from that a nice evening.

  • By Ben G from Holywell, St Ives, Cambs
    12 November 2019

    A very pleasant lunch - friendly service and the Fish & chips were excellent. Well done!

  • By Carolyn A from Oxford
    10 November 2019

    The food was very nice, atmosphere good and service very good. Everything tasted freshly prepared. The prices are quite high but we would rather pay a bit more and get a really nice meal.

  • By Marc van Niekerk V from Cambridge
    9 November 2019

    Great food and atmosphere. Staff were fantastic and nice to chat with. very knowledgeable and friendly

  • By Bill A from cambridge
    2 November 2019

    Wonderful food

  • By Joanna G from Cambridge
    30 October 2019

    Modern understated interior,great food and service - wine choice was excellent and the olives were particularly excellent also. Mains and dessert very enjoyable also. Would happily recommend

Restaurant Location Map
The Plough
2 The High Street, Coton, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire, CB23 7PL

Available offers

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Mitre

    The Mitre

    British
    (4 Reviews)
    3.5km
    The Mitre
  2. The Old Crown - Girton

    The Old Crown - Girton

    European
    (35 Reviews)
    3.8km
    The Old Crown - Girton
  3. SIX Panoramic Brasserie

    SIX Panoramic Brasserie

    British
    (610 Reviews)
    3.5km
    SIX Panoramic Brasserie
  4. DoubleTree Riverside Brasserie - Cambridge
    3.6km
    DoubleTree Riverside Brasserie - Cambridge
  5. Arundel House Hotel Cambridge
    3.6km
    Arundel House Hotel Cambridge