Reviews of The Petersham Restaurant

4.6
(based on 38 reviews)
Nightingale Lane, Richmond, Surrey, TW10 6UZ
38 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Vincent W from London
    12 October 2019

    We had a fantastic evening here, great venue for fine dining, well presented delicious food and wine. Excellent service.

  • By Merle S from Epsom
    1 October 2019

    Food was great, ate from set menu. Staff were freindly and my request for window seat was delivered. Asked for jug of water which they poured into our glasses.

  • By Clive radley R from Camberley
    11 September 2019

    Great meal and service

  • By Peter E from Twickenham
    21 July 2019

    First course was good - but then had to wait well over an hour for the main course. When it arrived (warm - not hot) there were various issues: my wife had the poussin, which was very rubbery in texture with hardly any meat on it. Accompanying vegetables were almost non-existent and we had to ask for more. I had the beef, which had a very good taste - but again, the vegetables were not cooked well - the roast potatoes were probably the worst I've ever had, effectively being sweetened boiled potatoes just covered with a bit of fat to make them look roasted; carrots overcooked; parsnip overcooked. The 'custard' for the bread and butter pudding could only be described as a watery soup, with the taste of powder. I was told that the hotel was catering for a large separate party - and it certainly felt like we were very much at the back of the queue and eating the leftovers. What was meant to be a celebratory wedding anniversary lunch was a very disappointing experience - the food and speed of service at our local pub far outstripped what the Petersham Hotel served.

  • By Bill B from London
    10 July 2019

    it was a very impressive arrival into the forecourt of the beautiful Victorian mansion that is the Petersham Hotel. The reception team was helpful and welcoming and in no time I felt safe that I had registered my car's details correctly. A slow stroll through the finely appointed rooms with stylish interior design and comfortable seating in wonderful rich colours made me happy that I had chosen to entertain my friends there. My arrival at the restaurant revealed the beautiful view, which makes Richmond on Thames so famous around the world. The staff were most kind and attentive and soon my guests arrived and enjoyed the warm atmosphere of the room and its elegant decor. The food and wines were delicious and imaginatively presented. A real treat in all senses of the word. A perfect evening, very much appreciated, so thanks to all your wonderful team. That said, I found the Forbes corrections irritating. We are in England and they repeatedly tried to make me spell everything in the American way. a bit too clever by half.

  • By Mark W from London
    6 July 2019

    Wonderful experience. Very welcoming staff and a beautiful view. The food itself was an utter delight. Each dish brought novelty as well as freshness, subtlety and delight to every mouthful. The Bonsai desert made me laugh until I tasted it - then I was too busy savouring every morsel!

  • By Charmian B from Kingston
    8 June 2019

    Table next to the large windows with panoramic view of the Thames. Good choice on menu.

  • By Pari P from London
    22 April 2019

    Great service, great food and amazing views

  • By Ann K from Walton on Thames
    23 January 2019

    Fab hotel venue with lovely views over Petersham fields and the river Thames from the restaurant and bar area. The service was excellent and the food delicious. The only downside was the soup which I found rather bland.

  • By Rob D from Kingston upon Thames
    5 January 2019

    excellent a la carte with wine and champagne. I had pork and David had halibut.