map placeholder

The Oystercatcher

Yapton Road, Climping, Littlehampton, BN17 5RU

((()* British
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Food was excellent, came in a timely manor even though very busy. Comfy seating in the bar area too.

Lisa 30 May 2018
from Littlehampton

View all 64 reviews

Formerly a grand house, The Oystercatcher near Littlehampton takes pride in its amazing location, close to the beach and surrounded by the lush countryside. Befitting of its pastoral situation, there is a distinctive thatched roof, a grand fireplace and impressive portraits. Your food can be savoured from the pretty beer garden, the hearth, or in the cosy booth in the pub.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Oystercatcher menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Oystercatcher ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

In a remote and tranquil location, The Oystercatcher Climping is only 6 minutes’ drive from Littlehampton.

The Oystercatcher

Yapton Road, Climping, Littlehampton, BN17 5RU

Contact +44 1903726354
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in West Sussex

See all restaurants in Littlehampton

Customer reviews for The Oystercatcher

3.7 ((()* (based on 64 reviews)
85% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((()*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (37)
  • dinner (36)
  • value (23)
  • private dining (15)
  • child friendly (10)
  • large parties (9)
  • romantic (9)
  • al fresco (8)
  • business (7)
  • luxury (5)
  • views (5)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • breakfast (1)
  • ((((( 17 July 2016 by George from Littlehampton

    Good food good service and great value will definitively visit again in the near future.

  • ((((* 3 July 2016 by Chris from Bognor Regis

    had a great meal again all the meals very tasty staff friendly and helpful a great night out

  • ((((( 27 June 2016 by Philip from middleton on sea

    Good service, wide choice of menu, good ambience, tasty food, good portions.

  • ((*** 14 June 2016 by Isobel from Arundel

    Very slow service - food disappointing - service haphazard

  • (((** 31 May 2016 by Samantha from Worthing

    Long delay for food, meal ok I was a bit disappointed from previous visits

  • ((((* 3 May 2016 by Byron from Stoke-on-Trent

    The positives, Starters, The mushrooms, Pate, and Risotto were excellent. Mains, Steak and Mushroom pie was good but the portion was on the small side. The staff were excellent and professional. The negatives The Cheese souffle was not a souffle but a very small disc resembling a pancake with a texture somewhere between a omelette and scrambled egg, looked very unattractive has no place on a quality menu, this was replaced. The duo of lamb, two were ordered, we were not asked how we wanted the rumps cooked and they were both overcooked, and one of them had quite a lot of gristle and membrane in it.This was acknowledged and we only paid for one of them. We have visited this restaurant on numerous occasions and this was our worst experience, this we think was due to it being very busy and the kitchen not coping very well, but even they could not have done anything with the souffle.

  • ((((( 16 April 2016 by Susie from Littlehampton

    We were with friends and we had a lovely meal in nice relaxed surroundings. Very helpful waitress looked after us. I know that although we live 39 miles away our friends intend to take a trip out and come back again. We will be back again this Sunday for a roast.

  • (((** 28 March 2016 by Allan from Northampton

    Lovely setting. A perfect venue for a family easter meal.

    Welcome was great and dood in general was good but...

    3 rump steaks ordered. 2 as per order, the ine needing medium came thru as Rare.
    I ordered rare serloin and was served medium.

    So a little dissapointing in serving. Why ask if cant deliver.

    Unfortunately the rare delivered strak was also the toughest.

    However, fab night had.

  • ((((( 2 February 2016 by Patricia from Lancing

    Always pleased with the staff, food etc

  • (((** 19 January 2016 by Doreen from WORTHING

    Disappointing. Beautiful decor. Had meal before in mid week and enjoyed it,
    Sunday told no roast beef left and no yorkshire puddings. Only 5:30 so surprised. Chicken and leek pie over cooked and dry was given, cost of starter taken off bill as an apology . Recommend mid week not weekend by this experience.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant