map placeholder

The Oystercatcher

Yapton Road, Climping, Littlehampton, BN17 5RU

((()* British
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Food was excellent, came in a timely manor even though very busy. Comfy seating in the bar area too.

Lisa 30 May 2018
from Littlehampton

View all 64 reviews

Formerly a grand house, The Oystercatcher near Littlehampton takes pride in its amazing location, close to the beach and surrounded by the lush countryside. Befitting of its pastoral situation, there is a distinctive thatched roof, a grand fireplace and impressive portraits. Your food can be savoured from the pretty beer garden, the hearth, or in the cosy booth in the pub.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Oystercatcher menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Oystercatcher ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

In a remote and tranquil location, The Oystercatcher Climping is only 6 minutes’ drive from Littlehampton.

The Oystercatcher

Yapton Road, Climping, Littlehampton, BN17 5RU

Contact +44 1903726354
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in West Sussex

See all restaurants in Littlehampton

Customer reviews for The Oystercatcher

3.7 ((()* (based on 64 reviews)
85% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((()*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (37)
  • dinner (36)
  • value (23)
  • private dining (15)
  • child friendly (10)
  • large parties (9)
  • romantic (9)
  • al fresco (8)
  • business (7)
  • luxury (5)
  • views (5)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • breakfast (1)
  • ((((( 4 October 2016 by Camilla from East Preston

    The pub had a cosy atmosphere with the log fires being on which was lovely. There were two gluten free diners in the party and the waiter explained which dishes could be modified to ensure they were gluten free.

  • ((((* 12 September 2016 by Steven from Bognor Regis

    venue lovely as always staff friendly and helpful chicken pie wonderful steak pie ugh what happened not like you to serve food like that, just a bad choice? unlucky on the night don't know eat it anyway but not up to your usual standard. The oyster catcher always a favourite and will remain so.

  • ((((( 6 September 2016 by Trudi from Chichester

    Had a really lovely evening. Very relaxed just what we needed. We were celebrating my Mum and dads 54 wedding anniversary and our sons 5th wedding anniversary too. We all enjoyed our food as there was no food left on our plates!! Staff were very nice. Thank you so very much.

  • ((((( 3 September 2016 by David from Climping

    A lovely evening, nice ambiance, good food and excellent service. Liz the waitress was brilliant, friendly but not intrusive and made the evening really good. We needed to move tables as we were next to a very noisy child - she helped us do this with no embarrassment to anyone. Truly a star in your crown.

  • (**** 19 August 2016 by Sylvia from Climping

    Bad experience. 4 meals ordered only 1 was ok. Steak pie dished up instead of chicken pie. Both chicken caesar salads arrived without bread as restaurant had run out, no bacon and grated cheddar served instead of shredded parmesan. Very poor performance

  • (((** 15 August 2016 by Kenneth from Bognor Regis

    good restaurant, shame my lobster and prawn cocktail starter only had a piece of lobster about 1cm long!! could be noted under the trades description act!! the main meal of scampi was good.

  • (((** 8 August 2016 by John from Littlehampton

    Staff very pleasant I was disappointed in my meal I had the lamb from the special board nearly all bone hardly any meat poor value for £12.50

  • ((((* 30 July 2016 by Trevor from Guildford

    Very nice, Liz the waitress was lovely and very attentive, the food was on the slow side but worth the wait. Overall another nice dinner apart from the wait for dinner..

  • ((((( 26 July 2016 by Alison from Littlehampton

    We went here for lunch with two friends and had a very nice experience. The service and food was spot on. Two of us had the roast chicken which is huge and very tender, someone else had the toad in the hole which was a bit over cooked but he said the sausages were very nice and the fourth person had the steak baguette with salad and fries which they said was lovely. Overall the food was excellent.

  • ((((* 20 July 2016 by Robert from Littlehampton

    better experience on Saturday, our previous two or three visits had been spoilt by the slow service, apparently due to insufficient staffing levels?

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant