map placeholder

The Oystercatcher

Yapton Road, Climping, Littlehampton, BN17 5RU

((()* British
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
  •  - West Sussex
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Food was excellent, came in a timely manor even though very busy. Comfy seating in the bar area too.

Lisa 30 May 2018
from Littlehampton

View all 64 reviews

Formerly a grand house, The Oystercatcher near Littlehampton takes pride in its amazing location, close to the beach and surrounded by the lush countryside. Befitting of its pastoral situation, there is a distinctive thatched roof, a grand fireplace and impressive portraits. Your food can be savoured from the pretty beer garden, the hearth, or in the cosy booth in the pub.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Oystercatcher menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Oystercatcher ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

In a remote and tranquil location, The Oystercatcher Climping is only 6 minutes’ drive from Littlehampton.

The Oystercatcher

Yapton Road, Climping, Littlehampton, BN17 5RU

Contact +44 1903726354
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in West Sussex

See all restaurants in Littlehampton

Customer reviews for The Oystercatcher

3.7 ((()* (based on 64 reviews)
85% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((()*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (37)
  • dinner (36)
  • value (23)
  • private dining (15)
  • child friendly (10)
  • large parties (9)
  • romantic (9)
  • al fresco (8)
  • business (7)
  • luxury (5)
  • views (5)
  • afternoon tea (3)
  • trendy (3)
  • breakfast (1)
  • ((((( 23 July 2017 by Tim from Climping

    Excellent. Think this place must be under new management. Service was brilliant, food perfect. So much improved since I last visited. I would definitely recommend the restaurant now. Keep up the good work.

  • ((((* 21 May 2017 by D from Worthing

    Fast service, lovely food, but sadly a number of things on the menu weren't available when we went.

  • ((((* 17 March 2017 by Janet from Bognor Regis

    We enjoyed our dining experience. The staff were friendly and efficient, the service quick and the food overall good although the steak in the pie was tough.

  • (**** 14 March 2017 by Gill from Worthing

    Service was very slow. Food overcooked. Ordered Mash for Grandson but chips arrived. He didn't want to make a fuss so kept chips.

  • (((** 13 March 2017 by Roland from Littlehampton

    We arrived at the correct time of 6.45 greeted promptly and seated with menus. And told that our drinks order would be taken soon which took far longer than normal as did the arrival of the drinks, we waited again for our meal order to be taken only to find that the burger s which two of our party asked for were not available an alternative was found and we waited a very long time for our meals - ( all three courses) . My daughter in law sent her burger back she went to the bar as no staff were around to assist and finally her meal was obtained and was enjoyed, as were all our meals, however a very long time ensued before our puds were finally given and again we waited a long time before we could settle the bill. Finally leaving the oyster catcher pub 3 hours later, which was most upsetting for my constitution as I have Parkinson's and do have to take medication regularly and not too late in having meals before retiring.
    I would like to point out that we do not normally have this trouble and often book at this sort of time and are served promptly and we get out in an hour and half and so to bed as the doctor ordered. So this complaint I hope is a one off due to lack of staff !??

  • ((((* 13 March 2017 by Sarah from London

    We held a family Sunday lunch for 25 following our daughter's Christening, and it was fabulous. We ordered food in advance and it was served to all 25 of us at the same time, steaming hot and delicious. The Oystercatcher couldn't have been more accommodating for our party. Many thanks. Would highly recommend.

  • (((** 7 March 2017 by Sharon from LITTLEHAMPTON

    Had to wait over half an hour for food. Mother in law chicken was very dry. Overall not that happy

  • ((((* 7 March 2017 by Wendy from rustington

    It was a very god evening ,the surroundings were great and also the food, the waitress was very friendly and attentive. All round a very enjoyable evening.

  • ((((( 25 February 2017 by Richard from Littlehampton

    good, thanks

  • ((((* 24 February 2017 by Carole from Climping

    Food was good, although the waitress was very good the service was incredibly slow

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant