The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley

(455 Reviews)
11 Knightsbridge, London, SW1X 7LY
Italian, Fish & Seafood, Afternoon Tea
View main menu

Top offer

5-course tasting menu and a glass of Champagne £65 per person

This offer is available from October 3, 2019 until December 28, 2019, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Not available in conjunction with other offers. Offer excludes service.

Average

Main course: £28
Food spend: £55

Opening hours

Monday - Sunday: 07.00 - 11:00 12:00 - 14:30 19:00 - 22:30

Restaurant description

An exclusive hideaway seating just 22 diners, The Oval at The Wellesley Hotel pays homage to the finest traditions of Italian cuisine. The stunning Art Deco dining room conjures images of a true Italian family feast, with glossy marble and smooth, pastel pink leather adding a touch of luxury.

Alongside gourmet pizzas and sumptuous meats from the grill, indulge in bold signature seafood dishes from The Oval menu, like homemade cod brandade ravioli, or salt-crusted wild sea bass with seasonal vegetables. Decadent Italian desserts include dark chocolate fondant with crunchy hazelnut, or classic tiramisu.

The Wellesley Hotel in London also hosts live music sessions in its 1920s-style Jazz Lounge.

In one of London’s most luxurious boutique hotels, The Oval Restaurant in Knightsbridge is a 2-minute walk from Hyde Park Corner Tube Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley
4.6
(based on 455 reviews)

96%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (88)
  • al fresco (4)
  • breakfast (12)
  • business (90)
  • child friendly (3)
  • dinner (323)
  • entertainment (46)
  • large parties (10)
  • lunch (205)
  • luxury (230)
  • private dining (179)
  • romantic (243)
  • trendy (39)
  • value (106)
  • views (2)
  • By Jasminder S from London
    12 December 2019

    Excellent

  • By KK K from london
    10 December 2019

    Fabulous intimate room. Excellent service. Tasty food off the set menu. Wine list reasonable.

  • By David B from camberley
    6 December 2019

    food and service both excellent good value for money service informative while being unobtrusive

  • By Kristiina L from London
    4 December 2019

    Exquisite food, friendly staff and great value. We ate burrata with beetroot salad and quail eggs, tagliatelle with veal ragù, then crème brûlée, all of which were fantastic. The staff made a special effort for my friend’s birthday, presenting her with a beautiful dessert. Highly recommend.

  • By David G from London
    4 December 2019

    Excellent good, wine and superb service

  • By Shane C from London
    2 December 2019

    Service of the highest standard. beautiful room fabulous food. this will not be my last visit

  • By Edward W from London
    25 November 2019

    This was fantastic old style dining. Great ambience, wonderfully attentive and helpful service and excellent food perfectly prepared. A memorable experience

  • By Dr Malcolm P from London
    24 November 2019

    We were celebrating a birthday and overall we had a very good time. The room is beautiful and the service was outstanding. The warm bread was delicious and the olive oil was one of the best we've ever had. However, we did feel that some of the dishes were just a little short of the mark. The octopus was overcooked and the carpaccio was not what we expect when we order carpaccio. But the creme brulee was wonderful and the special desert with a birthday candle was a very nice touch. One final point which surprised us was the requirement that the set lunch be taken by the whole table. There are sound reasons for this to do with timing when talking about tasting menus but when comparing three courses from the set menu with three courses from the a la carte, it is difficult to understand the reasoning.

  • By Giles F from Folkestone
    22 November 2019

    Excellent service, smart surroundings, great food.

  • By S from Croydon
    21 November 2019

    My friends and I had a lovely meal in a delightful setting. The decor was understated elegance. All of the staff were friendly and engaging. We each had a different starter which we enjoyed. Main was one salmon and two guinea fowl and again delicious. We all went for the Earl Grey crème brulee which I would highly recommend. A really lovely evening and highly recommend dining here.

Restaurant Location Map
The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley
11 Knightsbridge, London, SW1X 7LY

Available offers

  • 5-course tasting menu and a glass of Champagne £65 per person
  • Christmas Day menu at £85 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. Zafferano

    Zafferano

    Italian
    (24 Reviews)
    449m
    Zafferano
  2. Afternoon Tea at Knightsbridge Hotel

    Afternoon Tea at Knightsbridge Hotel

    Afternoon Tea
    (72 Reviews)
    866m
    Afternoon Tea at Knightsbridge Hotel
  3. Fifth Floor Café, Harvey Nichols Knightsbridge
    423m
    Fifth Floor Café, Harvey Nichols Knightsbridge
  4. The Game Bird

    The Game Bird

    British
    (48 Reviews)
    982m
    The Game Bird
  5. Le Chinois Restaurant and Bar

    Le Chinois Restaurant and Bar

    Chinese
    (35 Reviews)
    513m
    Le Chinois Restaurant and Bar