The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley

(443 Reviews)
11 Knightsbridge, London, SW1X 7LY
Italian, Fish & Seafood
A la carte menu

Top offer

Star Deal - 3 courses, a bellini & coffee or tea £35 per person

Available lunch & dinner Mon-Sun until 15 December 2019, subject to availability. Dishes from a set menu & subject to change. Includes VAT, excludes service.

Average

Main course: £28
Food spend: £55

Opening hours

Monday - Sunday: 07.00 - 11:00 12:00 - 14:30 19:00 - 22:30

Restaurant description

An exclusive hideaway seating just 22 diners, The Oval at The Wellesley Hotel pays homage to the finest traditions of Italian cuisine. The stunning Art Deco dining room conjures images of a true Italian family feast, with glossy marble and smooth, pastel pink leather adding a touch of luxury.

Alongside gourmet pizzas and sumptuous meats from the grill, indulge in bold signature seafood dishes from The Oval menu, like homemade cod brandade ravioli, or salt-crusted wild sea bass with seasonal vegetables. Decadent Italian desserts include dark chocolate fondant with crunchy hazelnut, or classic tiramisu.

The Wellesley Hotel in London also hosts live music sessions in its 1920s-style Jazz Lounge.

In one of London’s most luxurious boutique hotels, The Oval Restaurant in Knightsbridge is a 2-minute walk from Hyde Park Corner Tube Station.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley
4.6
(based on 443 reviews)

95%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (84)
  • al fresco (4)
  • breakfast (12)
  • business (89)
  • child friendly (3)
  • dinner (314)
  • entertainment (46)
  • large parties (10)
  • lunch (200)
  • luxury (225)
  • private dining (178)
  • romantic (238)
  • trendy (39)
  • value (103)
  • views (2)
  • By Zak S from London
    14 November 2019

    Fabulous location from Hyde Park Corner tube station. The entrance is very grand and a porter is on hand to open the door and welcome you on arrival. As soon as you enter the staff are very welcoming, accommodating and helpful. The interior is stunning, the oval restaurant does not seat many meaning the staff can be more at attentive. When booking we went for the three course set menu and noted that it was for a birthday. The set menu was provided to us once seated. Sometimes eating in these sort of establishments you can be made to feel inferior if choosing to dine off the set menu but we received the total opposite and they treated us amazingly and made the whole dining experience more pleasurable. The food was amazing, every dish could not be faulted. Once the food was in front of you the waiter/waitress would explain what was on the plate so we knew what we had ordered. It was a nice time wait between courses and at no point did we feel rushed. We were the last ones to leave the restaurant and the staff didn’t pressure us to leave at any point. It was my girlfriends birthday and they made a birthday dessert which had a candle on it and made her birthday that extra special. We would definitely recommend and will even look to go back here ourselves in the future.

  • By Tanya K from Essex
    9 November 2019

    An amazing restaurant with outstanding food, staff were excellent, decor was out of this world, will definitely go back, 5 star all the way, xxxxx

  • By Norinda J from London
    7 November 2019

    Dining at the Oval was such an amazing experience! The space was stunningly cosy; the service was impeccable; and the FOOD? The food was exquisitely presented, so delicious and the portions perfect! I can not wait to dine here again! I have booked 2 more times; yes it's that GOOD!

  • By Keith S from The Wellesley
    29 October 2019

    It was very good. I do not have anything to add to previous reviews which echoed with our experience, except that my friend had a gluten intolerance and they were able to provide a full gluten free meal which he enjoyed very much.

  • By Eric S from London
    24 October 2019

    We throughly enjoyed our visit most welcoming staff first class service and food and wine very good value with plenty of choice on menu, most helpful to my wife who has mobility problems. great shame that we were the only people in he room it needs more guests to come alive

  • By Abbie W from London
    12 October 2019

    I had the most fantastic evening at the Wellesley. We started with drinks at the Crystal Bar and loved our cocktails, I had a strawberry martini. Then we had dinner at the oval restaurant where the food was delicious and service impeccable. They brought a special dessert plate out with happy anniversary on it. The ambience was great and design beautiful. One of the best meals I've had and would highly recommend.

  • By Paul W from Newcastle upon Tyne
    12 October 2019

    Thoughtful menu to appeal to all tastes. Especially enjoyed the guinea fowl. Exquisite and highly professional service. Lavish decor, in keeping with the beautiful building.

  • By Bob W from London
    4 October 2019

    Quiet, pleasant, good, well-prepared and presented, with excellent attentive service. Also very convenient for Hyde Park Corner Tube Station!

  • By Lorraine D from london
    4 October 2019

    I have dined at The Oval twice in one week it was so good. The food was excellent, the room lovely, the staff attentive. On one occasion i was with a friend in a wheelchair and the staff really went out of their way to help with facilities.

  • By Jon B from London
    30 September 2019

    Very nice food, great service, but the atmostphere didn't quite represent the "official" photograph. It is a rather smaller dining room, and the lights were a little dim for my liking. Visited on a Monday night and it was very quiet to say the least, however the food and service was fantastic so I have to commend them on that.

Restaurant Location Map
The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley
11 Knightsbridge, London, SW1X 7LY

Available offers

  • Star Deal - 3 courses, a bellini & coffee or tea £35 per person
  • 5-course tasting menu and a glass of Champagne £65 per person
  • Christmas Day menu at £85 per person

Similar Restaurants

  1. Zafferano

    Zafferano

    Italian
    (23 Reviews)
    449m
    Zafferano
  2. Hai Cenato

    Hai Cenato

    Italian
    (19 Reviews)
    913m
    Hai Cenato
  3. Mamounia Lounge - Mayfair

    Mamounia Lounge - Mayfair

    Barbecue
    (1 Reviews)
    607m
    Mamounia Lounge - Mayfair
  4. The Betterment by Jason Atherton
    942m
    The Betterment by Jason Atherton
  5. Amaranto at Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
    329m
    Amaranto at Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane