Reviews of The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley

4.6
(based on 435 reviews)
11 Knightsbridge, London, SW1X 7LY
435 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Bob W from London
    4 October 2019

    Quiet, pleasant, good, well-prepared and presented, with excellent attentive service. Also very convenient for Hyde Park Corner Tube Station!

  • By Lorraine D from london
    4 October 2019

    I have dined at The Oval twice in one week it was so good. The food was excellent, the room lovely, the staff attentive. On one occasion i was with a friend in a wheelchair and the staff really went out of their way to help with facilities.

  • By Kristen W from London
    28 September 2019

    The Oval Restaurant is beautiful and a stunning atmosphere for a special dinner. My table of 4 all had the 5 course tasting menu, which we all agreed was slightly underwhelming. I only rated 2 out of the 5 courses. When you have a tasting menu each course should excite your palette. But unfortunately some of the courses were just boring and bland. The highlights for me was the duck ravioli and the after eight desert. Service was good and very attentive and we had a lovey evening however the tasting menu needs some work especially for a £65 price tag excluding drinks/wine.

  • By Cornelius J O'Shea O from London
    22 September 2019

    What a lovely experience from beginning to end,Staff lovely, food and wine excellent. We will definitely be back.

  • By Anthony B from Isle of Wight
    29 August 2019

    Very nice restaurant, excellent food and service.

  • By FoodieCat H from Woking
    17 August 2019

    Lovely meal in opulent surroundings with excellent staff. Service was a tad rushed with our food order being asked for before our pre-dinner cocktail had arrived. As this is a restaurant in a very high end hotel it does have a different atmosphere to a stand-alone restaurant. There was no buzz or and no walk-ins off the street meant it was super quiet which is not necessarily a bad thing as we could hear ourselves speak ! The jazz singer and pianist in the other hotel restaurant could be clearly heard which was a bonus. It is a very small dining area so if it was busy it would have had more atmosphere. There is a dress code and quite strict rule on getting to the restaurant on time which was odd as there were only another 4 customers in there when we arrived so not sure what they would only have held the table for more than 15 mins.....the wine was excellent. Highly recommend the Viognier on the short but interesting wine list for the 3 course set menu. There Is a far more extensive wine list with drinks by the glass which we were offered for dessert drinks. Lovely coffee. Ladies loos a bit smelly.....

  • By James J from London
    14 August 2019

    A small, pleasant restaurant within the hotel where the food was of a high standard and the service attentive and good, without being intrusive. The one downside was that some of the other guests were allowed to use the place as a posing "photographic studio" to the detriment of the other guests' enjoyment of the ambience.

  • By Shirley J from London
    10 August 2019

    The staff were welcoming and both food and service was excellent

  • By Uma K from London
    9 August 2019

    Small restaurant As you walk in you get a lot of Cigar smell. This was off putting. Nothing really to shout about in terms of food

  • By Sonia G from London
    8 August 2019

    The dining experience at the Oval was superb. All the dishes were excellent. A really nice touch was the waiter heard us toasting our anniversary and surprised us with a little cake towards the end of our meal.