Reviews of The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley

4.6
(based on 414 reviews)
11 Knightsbridge, London, SW1X 7LY
414 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Mary E from Basingstoke
    14 July 2019

    Excellent service, lovely food and beautiful surroundings

  • By Sandra B from London
    11 July 2019

    Absolutely fantastic. Food was great - staff attentive - only negative the restaurant was empty. Definitely worth a visit

  • By Kim W from London
    8 July 2019

    Fantastic!

  • By Simon H from London
    6 July 2019

    A beautiful setting in a boutique hotel. Great cocktails in the bar before and a world-class walk in humidor, for cigar lovers. The dining room is very small. The service is exemplary. The food is very good but not in the excellent category.

  • By Josephine W from London
    5 July 2019

    It was my first visit and the Wellesly Hotel is a beautiful Art Deco hotel very near to Hyde Park Corner. From the original tiling on the outside of the building to the totally sumptuous interior everything was amazing. The Oval Restaurant is unique, seats 24 but tables are nicely spaced and the decor again is perfection and to die for. We were there for the Lunch offer as we were seeing the Celine Dion Concert at Hyde Park later in the day and it surpassed all my expectations from the seared Mackerel starter, corn fed chicken with truffle main and creme brulee deserrt - all were excellent. The deal also includes a Bellini Cocktail. Due to it being a special birthday the chef also produced a platter of macaroons and pastries with Happy Birthday iced on the side which was a lovely surprise. The meal finished with coffee and tea together with a selection of biscuits on chocolate soil presented in a cigar box which was very special and a nice touch. The staff were amazing too. This is a very, very nice place to eat and I will return as soon as I can.

  • By Robert S from London
    1 July 2019

    Really nice intimate restaurant. Good food attractively presented. Particularly good white veal ragout. Recommended reasonably priced house wines. Attentive service. Sadly lunchtime we ate there no atmosphere as we were the only customers there.

  • By Thomas G from London
    21 April 2019

    Excellent dining experience! Alice was wonderful! Outstanding service. Recommend

  • By Maxine T from Southampton
    7 April 2019

    Service and good fantastic. Just a shame it wasn’t a little busier. As we were the only ones dinning.

  • By Anne P from London
    4 March 2019

    The restaurant itself is so beautiful, it's a work of art! I couldn't stop gazing around at the sheer beauty of it. The set menu contained enough items that suited me, although I did ask for the blue cheese sauce on my starter to be replaced with a 'blander' sauce, and this was easily accommodated. The staff were charming and knowledgeable about the dishes. The food was absolutely excellent, and the timing was good in that we were never rushed, but neither were we left without food for too long. The bread basket is itself worthy of note - a selection of Italian breads, freshly cooked.

  • By John A from Watford
    27 February 2019

    Food was excellent, especially enjoyed the flan starter, and sea bass. Service very good.