Reviews of The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley

4.6
(based on 431 reviews)
11 Knightsbridge, London, SW1X 7LY
431 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Anthony B from Isle of Wight
    29 August 2019

    Very nice restaurant, excellent food and service.

  • By FoodieCat H from Woking
    17 August 2019

    Lovely meal in opulent surroundings with excellent staff. Service was a tad rushed with our food order being asked for before our pre-dinner cocktail had arrived. As this is a restaurant in a very high end hotel it does have a different atmosphere to a stand-alone restaurant. There was no buzz or and no walk-ins off the street meant it was super quiet which is not necessarily a bad thing as we could hear ourselves speak ! The jazz singer and pianist in the other hotel restaurant could be clearly heard which was a bonus. It is a very small dining area so if it was busy it would have had more atmosphere. There is a dress code and quite strict rule on getting to the restaurant on time which was odd as there were only another 4 customers in there when we arrived so not sure what they would only have held the table for more than 15 mins.....the wine was excellent. Highly recommend the Viognier on the short but interesting wine list for the 3 course set menu. There Is a far more extensive wine list with drinks by the glass which we were offered for dessert drinks. Lovely coffee. Ladies loos a bit smelly.....

  • By James J from London
    14 August 2019

    A small, pleasant restaurant within the hotel where the food was of a high standard and the service attentive and good, without being intrusive. The one downside was that some of the other guests were allowed to use the place as a posing "photographic studio" to the detriment of the other guests' enjoyment of the ambience.

  • By Shirley J from London
    10 August 2019

    The staff were welcoming and both food and service was excellent

  • By Uma K from London
    9 August 2019

    Small restaurant As you walk in you get a lot of Cigar smell. This was off putting. Nothing really to shout about in terms of food

  • By Sonia G from London
    8 August 2019

    The dining experience at the Oval was superb. All the dishes were excellent. A really nice touch was the waiter heard us toasting our anniversary and surprised us with a little cake towards the end of our meal.

  • By Tracey G from Morden
    8 August 2019

    Beautiful surroundings, wonderful food and fantastic service- will definitely go again.

  • By Jane E from London
    7 August 2019

    Food was exceptional. The hotel is very welcoming and the Oval Room is a room that has a lovely ambiance.

  • By Rebecca Z from Hounslow
    5 August 2019

    Fantastic experience . Booked the star deal 3 courses , a glass of Bellini and tea/coffee . From the minute we walked through the doors of the hotel , we were greeted warmly at every stage ( atvtge door , concierge , reception then finally the restaurant reception . It was a Monday evening and we were the only three in the restaurant but the restaurant only seats about 20 so it didn’t feel odd at all .The service was fantastic . Michaela and Jessica were excellent servers; Efficient, Friendly and smiley and ensured that our friend with allergies was very well catered for . The food was delicious and beautifully presented . We were given assorted freshly baked bread and olive oil .We all had the salad with mozzarella for starters and sea bass for our main course . For dessert two of us had the Crete brûlée and the other artisan ice cream . All absolutely delicious .

  • By Mintie L from Greater London
    1 August 2019

    Very enjoyable lunch in fabulous surroundings. Service was friendly and attentive.