Reviews of The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley

4.6
(based on 408 reviews)
11 Knightsbridge, London, SW1X 7LY
408 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Thomas G from London
    21 April 2019

    Excellent dining experience! Alice was wonderful! Outstanding service. Recommend

  • By Maxine T from Southampton
    7 April 2019

    Service and good fantastic. Just a shame it wasn’t a little busier. As we were the only ones dinning.

  • By Anne P from London
    4 March 2019

    The restaurant itself is so beautiful, it's a work of art! I couldn't stop gazing around at the sheer beauty of it. The set menu contained enough items that suited me, although I did ask for the blue cheese sauce on my starter to be replaced with a 'blander' sauce, and this was easily accommodated. The staff were charming and knowledgeable about the dishes. The food was absolutely excellent, and the timing was good in that we were never rushed, but neither were we left without food for too long. The bread basket is itself worthy of note - a selection of Italian breads, freshly cooked.

  • By John A from Watford
    27 February 2019

    Food was excellent, especially enjoyed the flan starter, and sea bass. Service very good.

  • By Richard W from London
    17 February 2019

    Absolutely first class service and delicious food! We chose the Oval Restaurant for its proximity to Hyde Park, where we were walking. We had a glass of champagne each on arrival, and because we were 4, almost finished the bottle. So, without charging us for a full bottle, the manager kindly just allowed us to finish what was left because there were no other guests in the restaurant. She also offered my wife a quiet room where she could breast feed our newborn baby. The service was exemplary. The food also lived up to what you would expect of a 5* central London hotel. We live locally, and have never been to the Oval Restaurant, but would certainly go back. The venue would also make an AMAZING place for exclusive hire for a special birthday. I reckon they could seat 30-40 people and you could privatise the whole thing. Cannot rate the experience highly enough. Well done!

  • By Ying O from London
    17 February 2019

    It’s one of my favourite restaurants in London. I had afternoon tea, jazz night dinner there before. Last Sunday for my birthday, I took my husband and friends went for 3 course set menu which was an excellent choice. at £35 per person, we were given a glass of Veyve Cliquot each on arrival and 2 baskets of lovely Italian bread. We were the only table at that time, so the service was very tentative. The food was as usual, beautifully presented and delicious. I was even given an extra birthday dessert which made me very happy. Thank you very much Oval!

  • By Lira E from London
    10 February 2019

    We were at The Oval before and we loved it; this time the food exceeded my expectations. Absolutely fantastic! We have been to a few high-end restaurants and some Michelin starred restaurants that didn't compete with this place in terms of food flavour and presentation. The food was is simply faultless (We had the three courses and champagne star deal). My partner mentioned that we were celebrating my birthday and with the dessert came a separate beautifully decorated plate with a candle. Nice touch! The staff did their best, they were all friendly and courteous. However, the downside, for me, was to find that the first item took a while to arrive at the table. Although we were really hungry we waited to be offered some bread but in the end we had to ask for it. We were told that it would come straight away, however we had to wait for a considerable length of time before it did. The basket of bread was generous, it had an excellent variety of breads and it came accompanied by beautiful Sardinian olive oil on the side. At the end of our meal we were offered some lovely biscuits that came nicely presented in a Cohiba cigars wooden box. My overall feeling is that the place is painfully underrated, as not many tables were occupied. Thank you very much to everyone who took part at the Oval last Sunday in making my day a special one.

  • By Sue J from London
    10 February 2019

    This is my second visit to The Oval Restaurant and was a very relaxing Sunday lunch. The food was excellent and the service relaxed but attentive a completely enjoyable experience. The room is wonderful and my guests loved the whole experience.

  • By Geoff K from Kent
    18 January 2019

    I have regular lunches in "up-market" restaurants throughout central London. In terms of quality, value for money, and venue, this is one of the best.Wine by the glass, like all similar restaurants, is not cheap.

  • By Sam M from Pinner
    12 January 2019

    We had the set menu, which had good options for meat eaters and vegetarians. The food was beautifully presented and very tasty. The service was great, and although we weren't rushed the meal was finished quickly, however we were given a table to listen to the jazz music and had a drink, which finished off a lovely evening.