Reviews of The Oval Restaurant at The Wellesley

4.6
(based on 450 reviews)
11 Knightsbridge, London, SW1X 7LY
450 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Shane C from London
    2 December 2019

    Service of the highest standard. beautiful room fabulous food. this will not be my last visit

  • By Edward W from London
    25 November 2019

    This was fantastic old style dining. Great ambience, wonderfully attentive and helpful service and excellent food perfectly prepared. A memorable experience

  • By Dr Malcolm P from London
    24 November 2019

    We were celebrating a birthday and overall we had a very good time. The room is beautiful and the service was outstanding. The warm bread was delicious and the olive oil was one of the best we've ever had. However, we did feel that some of the dishes were just a little short of the mark. The octopus was overcooked and the carpaccio was not what we expect when we order carpaccio. But the creme brulee was wonderful and the special desert with a birthday candle was a very nice touch. One final point which surprised us was the requirement that the set lunch be taken by the whole table. There are sound reasons for this to do with timing when talking about tasting menus but when comparing three courses from the set menu with three courses from the a la carte, it is difficult to understand the reasoning.

  • By Giles F from Folkestone
    22 November 2019

    Excellent service, smart surroundings, great food.

  • By S from Croydon
    21 November 2019

    My friends and I had a lovely meal in a delightful setting. The decor was understated elegance. All of the staff were friendly and engaging. We each had a different starter which we enjoyed. Main was one salmon and two guinea fowl and again delicious. We all went for the Earl Grey crème brulee which I would highly recommend. A really lovely evening and highly recommend dining here.

  • By Sarvi P from London
    21 November 2019

    Restaurant staff extremely attentive and polite, and ambience of restaurant much better than in the photos. I found the food, mainly the soup and desert too heavy and didn't taste like what I was expecting. The creme brulee was far too sweet especially the caramelized sugar. I usually finish my creme brule but I could only mange 3 spoonfuls of this one. I think the Chef needs to keep his dishes simple and try not to mix too many flavours together. Despite the slightly disappointing food the evening was lovely

  • By Stephen C from eastbourne
    16 November 2019

    we have eaten here twice very good hotel and restaurant

  • By Zak S from London
    14 November 2019

    Fabulous location from Hyde Park Corner tube station. The entrance is very grand and a porter is on hand to open the door and welcome you on arrival. As soon as you enter the staff are very welcoming, accommodating and helpful. The interior is stunning, the oval restaurant does not seat many meaning the staff can be more at attentive. When booking we went for the three course set menu and noted that it was for a birthday. The set menu was provided to us once seated. Sometimes eating in these sort of establishments you can be made to feel inferior if choosing to dine off the set menu but we received the total opposite and they treated us amazingly and made the whole dining experience more pleasurable. The food was amazing, every dish could not be faulted. Once the food was in front of you the waiter/waitress would explain what was on the plate so we knew what we had ordered. It was a nice time wait between courses and at no point did we feel rushed. We were the last ones to leave the restaurant and the staff didn’t pressure us to leave at any point. It was my girlfriends birthday and they made a birthday dessert which had a candle on it and made her birthday that extra special. We would definitely recommend and will even look to go back here ourselves in the future.

  • By Tanya K from Essex
    9 November 2019

    An amazing restaurant with outstanding food, staff were excellent, decor was out of this world, will definitely go back, 5 star all the way, xxxxx

  • By Norinda J from London
    7 November 2019

    Dining at the Oval was such an amazing experience! The space was stunningly cosy; the service was impeccable; and the FOOD? The food was exquisitely presented, so delicious and the portions perfect! I can not wait to dine here again! I have booked 2 more times; yes it's that GOOD!