map placeholder

The Otter

London Road, Kegworth, Derby, DE74 2EY

(((() British
  •  - Leicestershire
  •  - Leicestershire
  •  - Leicestershire
  •  - Leicestershire
  •  - Leicestershire
  •  - Leicestershire
  •  - Leicestershire
  •  - Leicestershire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Excellent & friendly service

Lisa 03 May 2019
from Nottm

View all 82 reviews

On the banks of the River Soar, The Otter in Kegworth is a fine sight, with its old world-style white and cream timber design. Boasting well-loved British pub cuisine, to be enjoyed from the cosy log-fire or outside in the al fresco garden, it has great countryside views. With stylish art adorning the walls and colourful cushions and curtains, The Otter has a warm and homely feel.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Otter menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Otter ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

In the peaceful country village of Kegworth, The Otter is merely 8 minutes’ from Loughborough.

The Otter

London Road, Kegworth, Derby, DE74 2EY

Contact +44 1509672372
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Leicestershire

See all restaurants in Kegworth

Customer reviews for The Otter

4.3 (((() (based on 82 reviews)
97% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (56)
  • lunch (55)
  • views (43)
  • value (29)
  • private dining (19)
  • child friendly (18)
  • romantic (18)
  • afternoon tea (15)
  • business (15)
  • large parties (14)
  • al fresco (13)
  • trendy (5)
  • breakfast (4)
  • luxury (3)
  • entertainment (1)
  • ((*** 1 September 2016 by Kathleen from Loughborough

    The table was in an excellent spot and the service very efficient. We chose the lamb which was unfortunately quite tough. One of us couldn't eat much of it and mentioned it to waitress who took the price of her sweet off the bill. We did think the lamb would have been carved thinly but it was more like steak. If that is how it is normally served then we think it should have been explained more fully. It wasn't a cheap meal and even the two didn't enjoy the meal as we thought we should have done.

  • ((((( 27 August 2016 by Hayley from Sheffield

    Myself and family absolutely love this restaurant, we always have dinner the night before we fly from East Midlands, as we stay in a hotel. The food is always excellent and the staff are alway so polite and helpful. This time my daughter had just had braces fitted and the waitress went out of her way to suggest softer food for her to eat and actually got the chef to cook her sausage and mash which wasn't actually on the Sunday menu. The thing that was really outstanding this time was that when we asked for them to phone for a taxi for us, there was a 45 minute wait so the manager actually took us to the hotel himself to save us from waiting, now I think that is going more than the extra mile I think that that was excellent. I highly recommend the otter to anyone wanting a 5 star experience.

  • ((((( 20 August 2016 by Elizabeth from Derby

    Lovely historic pub, food was worth the price and views out the back were lovely. Although as it was a hot day windows doors had been left open and there were quite a few bugs about so a discrete bug zapper somewhere could be useful :)
    Only downside is by a busy main road which we could hear from where we were sitting.

  • ((((* 12 August 2016 by Linda from Pickering

    Nice restaurant, food always good and staff very helpful and polite. Visit here quite often as my son lives near.

  • (((** 9 August 2016 by Danielle from Nottingham

    The food and setting of the otter is fantastic, we has been once before and sat inside. This time we decided to sit outside. I felt forgotten about compared to being sat inside, even though the menu is the same so you spend the same money. I had to go upstairs and inside to get a menu then order a drink, main, a second drink, dessert and then to pay, queuing each time.
    Leave my partner alone for a long time. It would be nice to have service outside too and then it would be perfect. We had the sharing Sunday dinner and it's lovely.

  • ((((* 9 August 2016 by Paul from Nottingham

    had lovely Sunday lunch

  • ((((( 8 August 2016 by Helen from Kegworth

    The food was great. I had the chicken Bly sandwich and my sister had steamed salmon.

  • ((((( 8 August 2016 by Michelle from Kegworth

    Lovely setting, lovely quality food, lovely friendly staff, couldn't fault it, highly recommend

  • ((*** 26 July 2016 by Pat from loughborough

    Service was below average. Left to anguish for a while even following placing food order. Eventually had to hail a passing waiter to place order for drinks. For cost starter if olives and "artisan breads" wasn't worth the money. Mains. Ham hock was OK. Fish risotto was pretty poor, skin was flappy rather than crispy and the fish was full of bones. Taste was OK. Lamb was served with the shepherds pie being pretty fair but the accompanying piece of lamb was served with the outside burnt.
    Service was pretty poor with the waiter seeming to be uninterested in how we enjoyed the meal; that we had to volunteer. Didn't seem very interested.
    Definitely would not go back there in a hurry if at all.

  • ((((( 25 July 2016 by J from Ormskirk

    Fabulous food and fantastic service in lovely surroundings. Would definitely recommend a meal here!

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant