The Otter

(82 Reviews)
London Road Kegworth, Derby, Derbyshire, DE74 2EY
British
View main menu

Top offer

Sunday Menu

This offer is available from June 20, 2018 until July 20, 2030, subject to availability as displayed in the booking interface. Offer excludes service and includes VAT. Not available in conjunction with other offers. This promotion has additional information available. Click on the link(s) to view.

Average

Main course: £10
Food spend: £25

Opening hours

Monday to Thursday: 12:00 - 22:00
Friday: 12:00 - 23:00
Saturday: 11:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 11:00 - 22:00.

Restaurant description

On the banks of the River Soar, The Otter in Kegworth is a fine sight, with its old world-style white and cream timber design. Boasting well-loved British pub cuisine, to be enjoyed from the cosy log-fire or outside in the al fresco garden, it has great countryside views. With stylish art adorning the walls and colourful cushions and curtains, The Otter has a warm and homely feel.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Otter menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Otter ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

In the peaceful country village of Kegworth, The Otter is merely 8 minutes’ from Loughborough.

Dishes displayed on a la carte menus are representative of the type of food available at the restaurant.

Customer reviews for The Otter
4.3
(based on 82 reviews)

98%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (15)
  • al fresco (13)
  • breakfast (4)
  • business (15)
  • child friendly (18)
  • dinner (56)
  • entertainment (1)
  • large parties (14)
  • lunch (55)
  • luxury (3)
  • private dining (19)
  • romantic (18)
  • trendy (5)
  • value (29)
  • views (43)
  • By David E from Shepshed
    4 May 2019

    Our dining experience was only fair. Two of our party had steak and ale pie and the meat was a little tough. Two others had lasagne and gammon respectively and enjoyed them. I had fish and chips and the fish was more batter than fish. Several of us wanted crumble bur we were told it had been the subject of complaints so was not available. It is hard to imagine how a good crumble can be difficult to make. I make them quite often.

  • By Lisa R from Nottm
    1 May 2019

    Excellent & friendly service

  • By Sue M from Leicester
    2 May 2018

    Excellent service and food

  • By Robert B from Nottingham
    17 November 2017

    Excellent food, value and service.

  • By Chris N from The Otter @ Kegworth
    22 September 2017

    AS GOOD AS ALWAYS, STAFF GOOD, FOOD GOOD & SURROUNDINGS /ATMOSPHERE GOOD

  • By Andree B from Hathern
    26 August 2017

    Excellent, especially the staff. They were very patient, helpful and tried their best to please us.

  • By John C from loughborough
    19 August 2017

    We have a granddaughter visit us from Newark once or twice a month and we give her the choice of where to eat locally. Whist there are at least 12 good eateries that my wife and I use regularly, she usually chooses to eat at The Otter. The views over the river are lovely and the atmosphere is good. The food is of a high quality. On two occasions when I had to mention some small food issue, they were dealt with quickly and adequately.

  • By Eddie W from melton
    19 August 2017

    the table we had on this occasion was sited in a bay window , which gave lovely views of the river

  • By Wendy C from Nottingham
    19 July 2017

    We dined yesterday, the food was top quality the waitress was very helpful and attentive. I took 2 friends who had not been before they were well impressed. The setting is beautiful, overlooking the River Soar and open fields.

  • By Joy E from Oakham
    9 June 2017

    Good experience and good value

Restaurant Location Map
The Otter
London Road Kegworth, Derby, Derbyshire, DE74 2EY

Available offers

Similar Restaurants

  1. The Trent Lock

    The Trent Lock

    British
    (42 Reviews)
    5.6km
    The Trent Lock
  2. Harvester - Wheatsheaf

    Harvester - Wheatsheaf

    British
    (17 Reviews)
    7.2km
    Harvester - Wheatsheaf
  3. Whisk + Ladle

    Whisk + Ladle

    European
    (3 Reviews)
    3.8km
    Whisk + Ladle
  4. Toby Carvery - Loughborough

    Toby Carvery - Loughborough

    British
    (14 Reviews)
    7.8km
    Toby Carvery - Loughborough
  5. The Packe Arms

    The Packe Arms

    British
    (44 Reviews)
    8.7km
    The Packe Arms