Reviews of The Orange Tree

3.8
(based on 64 reviews)
7 Totteridge Village Whetstone, London, N20 8NX
64 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By David H from Watford
    6 March 2020

    Food distinctly average

  • By Semma O from London
    23 February 2020

    Unfortunately it seems like because it was busy the food wasn’t up to standard, :( I really wanted it to be a good experience and I was going out with my grandmother in law, Aunty and my young children for Sunday dinner something we don’t really do and the food was such a let down. My grandmother didn’t want to complain as she doesn’t like to cause problems but did mention it to the waiter after our meal (she had fish and chips) she said the fish wasn’t really that nice there wasn’t much fish and the chips were ok to which he replied “You should have told me before you ate it.” Like I explained she didn’t want to as she doesn’t like complaining and it was clear it was very busy. It wasn’t until we got home she said that her meal really wasn’t nice but she hadn’t wanted to mention it for my aunt to complain. She used to go to the restaurant with her late husband and alway said they had a great time and food which is why I booked it for us. I had the vegetarian roast which was ok, my Aunty ordered pork belly roast but said although it was pork it wasn’t pork belly as the menu said. She said she ate it as she was hungry but wouldn’t want to return again. The waitress asked if we wanted any sauces after bringing out food to which I said yes and she never came back with any. As I said I believe this was as it was a Sunday and very busy as I have been to the restaurant during the week once before and enjoyed the food. Just a shame I brought my grandmother in law for a treat and we were not impressed.

  • By Marion A from London
    15 February 2020

    Very disappointing. Misleading Valentine’s set menu resulted in our being billed for an extra dish. Food was okay

  • By Juan G from London
    29 December 2019

    The reservation system is such that you arrive and they tell you you need to leave the table in 2 hours. I would nt mind, that is the case, but then they kept reminding us this at every step... Annoying. Then the food came and 3 of us had sunday roasts. They were all cold!

  • By Paul H from London
    10 July 2019

    A lovely place for a meal on a summers evening, dining on an outdoor table. A nice country setting with the pond out front. The service got outdoor dining though is limited to delivering food which you have to go into the restaurant to order. Plates are not cleaned away at the end of the meal and we had to ask for the table to be cleaned before we ate. Food was good but not outstanding.

  • By androulla papageorgiou P from HERTS
    6 July 2019

    Booking a table was so easy online. Lovely atmosphere when entering, you feel the buzz. Beautiful interior.. Staff were friendly. We ordered cocktails which were very nice, especially my Martini espresso. The starters that we shared were delish. One of my friends had ordered the steak which was so tough and gristly, it was not a good cut of rump at all. It was served with scallops which were a muddy colour, overcooked and wrinkly. We saw the manager about this and she was extremely understanding and took it off our bill. She dealt with it very well. when it came to dessert time, another friend of mine had ordered a rum baba which she was so looking forward to this as its her fave dessert. When it had arrived it looked like a large muffin and the waitress poured syrup over it. . Absolutely terrible. I am a cake maker and decorator by profession and know that this was nothing like a traditional rum baba . A rum baba is a yeast based cake mixture which is soaked in syrup once baked and has a little fresh cream in the centre. It does not come half frozen solid and then pour syrup on top. It has to be the worst dessert i ever seen. Again we spoke to the manager who offered complimentary desserts. I hate complaining and told her this but she reassured me that any criticism given is taken on board to improve the menu and service. I only hope this is true. The pub is extremely busy so service was a little slow and the clearing of the tables also. No serviettes were given with our main courses. Apart from that we all actually had a nice evening catching up with each other and like i said earlier, the atmosphere is very buzzy. I do hope you take on board any kind criticism given above. Kind regards.

  • By Carolyn M from Mill hill
    18 May 2019

    Had a lovely lunch , good food and good service , nice selection of food ,nice atmosphere i had the fillet steak salad which was delicious. The children's portions were very generous ,my grandson had the sausage and mash and so did my 83 year old mother that does not eat a lot , my daughter in law had the spit roast chicken that was also delicious , will defiantly be returning

  • By Michael J from Redbourn
    14 April 2019

    I thought the food was very poor. The lobster / prawn starter was soggy and tired. the fish and chips. with treble cooked chips, were not crisp such that the skin of the fish and the chips were not edible, and the roast pork was very average, with again potatoes that were not crispy. A poor day for the chef.

  • By Simone D from London
    10 February 2019

    Roast beef, Sunday lunch.

  • By Philip H from london
    9 February 2019

    overpriced.......chateaubriand was the worst I've experienced......chips were cold