Reviews of The Old Lion

4.2
(based on 126 reviews)
Pailton Road, Rugby, Warwickshire, CV23 0HQ
126 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By John D from Harborough Magna
    14 March 2020

    Very nice. Great Gin

  • By Kevin G from Rugby
    8 March 2020

    Waiting 55 minutes for the main course to be served was appalling, we went for a Sunday lunch and in all honesty 2 1/2 hrs of my time I will never get back.

  • By David M from Coventry
    6 March 2020

    Lovely food reasonably priced

  • By Michelle C from Rugby
    29 February 2020

    We had a lovely meal on Saturday night as we were catching up with some good friends. We were made to feel extremely welcome and the service was really good. The choice of food made it difficult to choose as it all sounded amazing! I had the pie of the day which was steak and ale and it was full of flavour. We all enjoyed our meals and will definitely be visiting again.

  • By Karin lorraine W from Midland
    22 February 2020

    Lovely food and service was very quick

  • By Anne C from Portsmouth
    22 February 2020

    Booked by chance as staying locally for the weekend. Great menu choice, with good children's options. I especially liked the Greek starters we had and my daughters are converts to saganaki! Friendly attentive staff, even while it was very busy. Special thanks to Thanasis. Sadly we don't live nearby, or we'd visit regularly.

  • By Terence H from rugby
    21 February 2020

    The meal for all for of us was excellent

  • By David M from Coventry
    15 February 2020

    Nice food. Friendly service

  • By Paul D from Rugby
    14 February 2020

    Excellent food and a lovely atmosphere. My partner had the rack of Lamb and I had the ribeye steak. Very good service and friendly staff.

  • By Les B from HINCKLEY
    12 February 2020

    It was some years since we had used this location but this time it was ideally positioned for meeting some old friends. Front of house was a delightful gentleman who afforded us plenty of time to chat whilst we perused the menu in comfortable leather settees. We were shown to our table just prior to our order being served. Three of us had the slow roast belly pork whilst the other member of our group had the haddock and chips (small portion). The pork was cooked to perfection as were the accompanying vegetables. Unfortunately, the haddock was a lot smaller than anticipated so it would be useful to give a better indication of the portion size. We moved onto the desert course and again the dishes were home produced and cooked to perfection. Enjoyed the whole experience and will not leave it as long again to visit.