Reviews of The Old Lion

4.2
(based on 109 reviews)
Pailton Road, Rugby, Warwickshire, CV23 0HQ
109 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By David T from Hinckley
    15 January 2020

    Four of us enjoyed dinner celebrating my birthday. The Old Lion has been recently updated, beautifully decorated and the restaurant has a smashing menu. Food was full of flavour, wonderfully cooked and very nicely presented. The owner was doing the waiting in the restaurant, a lovely gentleman and doing his diners proud.

  • By Jason B from Milton Keynes
    15 January 2020

    It was a Wednesday lunchtime in mid January so the restaurant was very quiet as you might expect. Food however was excellent. Two of us had the steak and Ale Pie (which we were informed after ordering was on a two for one deal!) and it was one of the best I have ever eaten. Starters were also fantastic. I would highly recommend and will definitely be returning.

  • By Sam Donnelly D from Stretton
    4 January 2020

    Lovely atmosphere very relaxing food was most enjoyable as always

  • By Spencer Q from Rugby
    3 January 2020

    Loved it here. The food was amazing and so was the service. Will definitely be booking again

  • By Thomas V from Birmingham
    19 December 2019

    I had a very dry falafel burger which was like paste in the mouth. To be honest an improvement would be great. Maybe by adding a nice relish and some crispy salad and tomatoes in the burger, I have ordered a half pint and I have been served a whole pint. The only thing that cheered me up was the interior and cosiness of the pub. Could definitely be better than this.

  • By Chris I from Rugby
    19 December 2019

    Friendly attentive staff with modern décor, Menu has a good selection to suit most tastes. Service was efficient & food was served piping hot. Good place for informal relaxed dining.

  • By Ian W from Englefield Green
    18 December 2019

    Excellent in every way - cooking, service and atmosphere. It was a great way to start Christmas and well worth the drive from Surrey.

  • By Rhys W from Rugby
    14 December 2019

    We were greeted at the door and taken to our table. The staff were smiling happy and couldn't do enough, but not sitting on your shoulder :) The food was well presented and tasted amazing. Good drinks and as I was driving a good selection of non alcoholic lager. Amazing. We will be back :))))

  • By Sally S from Kenilworth
    23 November 2019

    Warm, inviting and very friendly service. Good mix of dishes... something for everyone. Keenly priced. A lovely way to celebrate my oldest daughter's birthday, along with her (grown up) sisters. The experience cheered up a dreary wet and windy evening and made us want to come back!

  • By Linda E from Rugby
    7 November 2019

    We booked for lunchtime because the lunchtime menu online looked reasonably priced. When we arrived we weren't offered this menu but the main one so had to ask for it. The waiter was reluctant to give it to us and said there were sandwiches, baguettes etc on the blackboard and smaller portion meals were on the main menu. We decided to order from the main menu after all as there was very little choice of hot food. The home cooked steak pie was very good, if not a little pricey at £14.95 and the fish and chips was generously portioned. We had noticed that at lunchtime, desserts could be ordered for £3.50 but when we asked for one were told they were only if you ordered from the lunchtime menu (?) We decided not to bother as it all seemed to be too much trouble.