map placeholder

The Old Hatchet

Hatchet Lane, Cranbourne, Windsor, SL4 2EE

(((() British
  • The Old Hatchet - Berkshire
  • The Old Hatchet - Berkshire
  • The Old Hatchet - Berkshire
  • The Old Hatchet - Berkshire
  • The Old Hatchet - Berkshire
  • The Old Hatchet - Berkshire
  • The Old Hatchet - Berkshire
  • The Old Hatchet - Berkshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 21:00.

Great food, lovely old pubs with nooks and crannies. Great for couples

Caroline 01 May 2018
from Windsor

View all 27 reviews

Dating all the way to the 16th century, The Old Hatchet is the quintessential rural British pub. Inside, there are rustic flagstone floors and crackling log fires, while outside the tranquil beer garden is the perfect sun trap, and puts on BBQs and hog roasts during the warmer months.

The Old Hatchet menu uses meat and fish from local suppliers, and crafts them into honest, whole gourmet pub grub favourites. Nibbles for the table include baked camembert, pigs in blankets and sweet potato fries, moving on to crowd-pleasers like Frontier Ale-battered fish and chips, and the prime rib-eye. Signature hanging skewers are a popular choice, and on Sundays there are roast dinners with all the trimmings.

From the bar at The Old Hatchet in Windsor, there are regularly rotated Fuller's ales, as well as a selection of world beers and fine wines. Not only is this a dog-friendly pub, but there is a dedicated menu for man's best friend too, with a great selection of healthy nibbles, and even sweet treats like special frozen yoghurt.

A charming slice of rural British pub tradition, The Old Hatchet is a 12-minute drive from Bracknell Rail Station.

The Old Hatchet

Hatchet Lane, Cranbourne, Windsor, SL4 2EE

Contact +44 1344899911
Website

See all restaurants in Berkshire

See all restaurants in Windsor

Customer reviews for The Old Hatchet

4.4 (((() (based on 27 reviews)
92% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (20)
  • lunch (20)
  • value (10)
  • romantic (8)
  • private dining (6)
  • child friendly (4)
  • business (3)
  • large parties (3)
  • entertainment (2)
  • views (2)
  • afternoon tea (1)
  • al fresco (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • ((((( 27 November 2017 by Rachel from Camberley

    Fantastic staff who are fun to be around and excellent food and atmosphere.

  • ((((* 24 November 2017 by Ellen from Windsor

    Excellent food and excellent service. Lovely venue. Also dog friendly in bar

  • ((*** 7 November 2017 by Jan from Newport pagnell

    Lovely old pub, warm and cosy with friendly staff. We were however, disappointed with the service, we were given menus and after a short time we were asked for our orders. We hadn’t been asked for our drinks order and had to ask them for drinks whilst we had a further couple of mins to decide on food!
    The food was rather slow in coming but starters were a very good size and delicious. We waited a very long time for our main, x2 delicious haddock and chips for my husband and mother in law and lasagne for myself. Disappointingly my lasagne was only luke warm/cold in the middle and had to go back. The second lasagne arrived and that was absolutely stone cold in the middle and barely warm around the edges. That too went back. Apologies were given and another lasagne offered free of charge or indeed something else from the menu but This would have meant me eating my meal on my own, the fish and chips already having been consumed! so I politely declined. How could chef have sent out not only one but two cold lasagnes? Unforgiveable??.
    We did not receive any compensation, coffees on the house or maybe the drinks knocked off the bill would have been an acceptable gesture.
    Very disappointed as we had been searching for that pub for a long time having stumbled across it a few years ago and enjoying the food and not remembering its name and location since that time.

  • ((((( 6 November 2017 by Kevin from Winkfield

    The ribs were amazing and a huge portion for a starter. Try the skewers - a huge amount of meat. If they have the apple and cinnamon crumble with custard, go for thar too. Even if you hate cinnamon (like me) - you cannot taste it over the wonderful flavours of the apple and the crumble mix.
    Open fireplaces are a lovely touch too - especially as the nights start to get colder.

  • ((((( 2 November 2017 by Bobby from Ashford Middx

    Fantastic friendly service and the food is always top natch. I’ll be going back.

  • ((((( 30 October 2017 by Ian from Bracknell

    very friendly waitress, excellent service, meals were hot and freshly cooked, Hatchet hanging skewers and Hatchet steak burger were well presenting and were perfect for those with an appetite.

  • ((((( 24 October 2017 by Wendy from Ascot

    Fantastic roasts

Unfortunately, you can't book The Old Hatchet online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant