Reviews of The Old Gate Inn

4.0
(based on 17 reviews)
162-164 New Dover Road, Canterbury, Kent, CT1 3EL
17 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jolanta C from Canterbury
    24 December 2019

    Very nice place, good atmosphere and friendly staff members happy to help and making sure you are fine. Ordered vegan burger, pizza and fish and chips, everything was delicious. Non alcoholic cider was topic!

  • By Isis H from Broadstairs
    5 February 2018

    The venue has a good ambience and cosy feel. Staff were welcoming and attentive. Gave sufficient time for everything. Menu gave good choices. Starters were excellent. Mains a bit dry. Puds great. An excellent value for money dining experience.

  • By Suzanne P from Margate
    31 December 2017

    The service was very good. Staff very attentive and smart. Pub has lovely country feel, warm and inviting.

  • By Rosemary R from DOVER
    20 July 2017

    I dined here with three of my female friends and the experience was very good. The service was excellent and the food hot and tasty.

  • By Sharon H from Kent
    8 July 2017

    A lovely relaxing friendly place..excellant menu as was the food

  • By Jane S from Canterbury
    27 May 2017

    Excellent food Excellent service Friendly atmosphere

  • By Penny S from ashford
    13 March 2017

    We were very well looked after and the food and service were very good We were a bit surprised that we had to pay an extra 50p for an extra egg with a chosen dish

  • By Eneida R from Bracknell
    5 March 2017

    Food was ok expected a better standard. Ordered sirilion and got rump instead. Fabulous waitress she went over and Beyond. It was my partners birthday and she surprised him with candles on his brownie with a birthday song??

  • By John C from canterbury
    3 March 2017

    we had an excellent meal with a varied menu . I had a very good steak with the trimmings at a good value. The staff were polite and provided good service.

  • By Penny G from Minster
    20 November 2016

    The service was good and the starters acceptable, however our main meals were below standard. Roast beef was difficult to cut and chewy, with dry carrots and mushy greens, lacking in flavour. The risotto was very sloppy and gloopy, far too rich as well, not worth the price. The Caeser salad lacked the usual crisp fresh crunch of the lettuce and was too finely chopped with a mix of content, and a strangely large pile of flat bread with it. The sirloin steak was grisly, tough and not well cooked, and it is served with minimal vegetable accompaniments. The waitress was pleasant and helpful.

2 Next page