map placeholder

The Old Farmhouse

Yarm Road, Darlington, DL2 1JZ

((((* British
  •  - County Durham
  •  - County Durham
  •  - County Durham
  •  - County Durham
  •  - County Durham
  •  - County Durham
  •  - County Durham
  •  - County Durham
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Had Sunday lunch with family as a birthday celebration. Food was good. Desserts were to die for. Table service was excellent. Requested a table with extra room to accommodate mobility scooter which was as requested. We had a lovely afternoon. Thank you,

Lynne 25 July 2018
from Darlington

View all 48 reviews

Built in the 17th-century, The Old Farmhouse near Darlington is a traditional country pub, serving well-loved British food in a beautiful setting. Close to a number of tranquil waterways, the pub has eye-catching, ivy-enclosed walls, which can be enjoyed along with the food from the beer garden. Interiorly, rustic features characterise The Old Farmhouse, with luxurious sofas, a warm log-fire and dark oaken beams.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Old Farmhouse menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Old Farmhouse ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Old Farmhouse is just 6 minutes’ drive to Darlington.

The Old Farmhouse

Yarm Road, Darlington, DL2 1JZ

Contact +44 1325332191
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in County Durham

See all restaurants in Darlington

Customer reviews for The Old Farmhouse

4.1 ((((* (based on 48 reviews)
87% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • lunch (32)
  • dinner (30)
  • value (12)
  • child friendly (9)
  • private dining (9)
  • romantic (8)
  • afternoon tea (6)
  • large parties (6)
  • business (4)
  • al fresco (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • trendy (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • entertainment (1)
  • views (1)
  • (((** 29 July 2015 by Maxine from Stockton-on-Tees

    Considering the restaurant was quiet, the service was slow, when the food finally arrived, it was cold. Very Poor

  • ((((( 26 July 2015 by Hayley from Darlington

    Very good enjoyed it lovely for a birthday meal

  • ((((* 16 July 2015 by Kevin from Cardiff

    Very enjoyable meal. Hot tasty Nd lovely dessert. Highly recommended

  • ((((* 14 July 2015 by Ann from stockt

    Great service lovely food

  • (**** 21 January 2015 by Terry from Tunstall

    Overall, I was pleased with my first visit to the Old Farmhouse, Darlington. All my guests enjoyed the food, the surroundings and the experience. The serving staff were attentive, efficient and friendly. It was a bitterly cold day and our table, which I had booked, wasn't near one of the many fires. Nevertheless, it wasn't cold enough to ask to be moved to a warmer part of the restaurant. Incidentally, I particularly enjoyed the Duecars bitter.
    My only adverse comment is about the toilets, which require updating immediately. My wife was also disappointed by the poor state of the ladies toilets.
    I shall have no hesitation in visiting the pub again soon, the unsatisfactory state of the toilets notwithstanding.

  • (**** 6 January 2015 by Mark from Darlington

    The experience was very poor. Four of the main course options were not available, the service was really slow and the food was very poor. I paid extra for 'chunky chips', but these were inedible as they were hollow and full of the frying oil. Never again!

  • (**** 23 September 2014 by Teresa from Bishop Middleham

    Terrible, staff were stressed and couldn't cope which led to bad service. Waiting time far too long, 20 mins for drinks, 45 mins for meal and when meal finally came steak was so small and alot of it was gristle, handful of oven chips, half a tomato and 2 small onion rings,small portions, overpriced. Numerous people complaining and walking out. We went home feeling hungry and ripped off. Never experienced anything like it before. Used to be a good place to dine but not anymore. Never again!

  • ((((( 5 February 2014 by Angie from Newton Aycliffe

    Food and service were excellent, friendly welcoming atmosphere.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant