Reviews of The Old Bulls Head

4.2
(based on 52 reviews)
134 Main Street Woodhouse Eaves, Loughborough, West Midlands, LE12 8RZ
52 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Teresa S from Loughborough
    12 February 2020

    Staff were pleasant, chatty and efficient. I thought the choice on the mains menu was adequate but unexciting. However, the salmon was beautifully cooked and the different flavours with the vegetables were pleasant. The desserts were lovely.

  • By Faye P from Leicester
    26 October 2019

    A great meal and overall dining experience

  • By Lorna F from Loughbrough
    10 October 2019

    The setting is very nice, decoration and lighting. I broke donline and they didn't find the booking so it was lucky that the restaurant was not too full. If not the service was lovely. Maybe next time me and my partner could have been seated no so close to another couple as the restaurant was not full until the end of our dining experience. If not the food is always delicious and so are the drinks.

  • By Cyrrhian G from Lichfield
    31 May 2019

    Lovely lunch. Soup and bread delicious as was the brie - a generous portion. Sweet chilli beef salad was good option for someone on a diet (me). Lamb koftas - light but tasty.

  • By Sue F from Loughborough
    30 December 2018

    Lovely restaurant, food was fine but poor beef quantity on child’s Sunday roast menu in comparison to the chicken option. More supplied when queried but what came was very fatty. No meringues and no hot chocolate despite being on menu - these are basics and should not be unavailable.

  • By Kristina A from Leicester
    13 June 2018

    Atmosphere, food and staff always excellent. Love the wholefood salad and the coffee with mini pud. Recommend Lemon cheesecake or 3 Belgium chocs. Very good value for money.

  • By Richard F from Oaks In Charnwood
    24 April 2018

    By the nature of your request for details of our second and hopefully better visit it sounds like you did not bother to read the first very poor encounter. On this occasion it only took 10 minutes to be seated, and 15 minutes to obtain a pre lunch drink for my clients and I. The waitress (Miriam) was sullen,did not interact with us and gave a total negative reaction to the whole restaurant. Following a long wait for the food 3/4 of an hour the food was acceptable, but again no staff asked our party about the food. Along wait ensued for anyone retuning to ask for our desert requests, again the food was fine but things were not improved when we waited another 3/4 for the bill and had to resort to find what appeared to be a shortage of "interested" staff to obtain our bill. We are not a group who look or enjoy "fast restaurant food" but do require decent service where we are seated and given access to good waitstaff and good service. We will not be returning to this nicely decorated but poorly run establishment and without doubt not be recommending it to other companies within the area.

  • By Martin R from Woodville,Derbyshire
    8 April 2018

    Friendly and helpful staff,great food,busy but enjoyable

  • By Nadine T from Loughborough
    14 March 2018

    Food was amazing. Really tasty, well presented, good value. Little touches like the complimentary savouries was welcome and rare. Slight negative was the very low hanging lamp. My dining guest hit his head twice.

  • By Joanne T from Woodhouse Eaves
    2 February 2018

    Lovely meal, great service. Definitely recommend.