map placeholder

The Nothe Tavern

Barrack Road, Weymouth, DT4 8TZ

((((* British
  • The Nothe Tavern - Dorset
Opening hours
Monday: 12:00 - 15:00 & 18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday to Sunday: 12:00 - 23:00.

Fresh nuaaels

Karl 18 August 2019
from Weymouth

View all 123 reviews

With stunning views over Weymouth's harbour from the terrace, The Nothe Tavern serves up a great selection of local fish and other gourmet British treats. The interior feels like a cosy, quaint rural cottage, and the terrace is perfect for al fresco dining in the sunshine.

The Nothe Tavern menu champions traditional British flavours with inventive tweaks. Signature specials include the Nothe Tavern artisan pie with root vegetables, as well as guinea fowl with asparagus spears, herb crushed potatoes and a creamy Tuscan red wine sauce. Fresh Portland crab is served with avocado mousse and sweet orange purée, and there are dedicated vegan and children's menus too.

A sweet end to the menu at The Nothe Tavern in Weymouth includes treats like double chocolate and salted caramel tarts with berry compote, while from the bar there are international beers on tap, bottles of bubbles, and a selection of fine wines.

The terrace at The Nothe Tavern is a hugely popular summer hangout, and there is always a warm, welcoming ambience to be found all throughout the day. Weymouth Rail Station is just a 10-minute drive away.

The Nothe Tavern

Barrack Road, Weymouth, DT4 8TZ

Contact +44 1305787300
Website

See all restaurants in Dorset

See all restaurants in Weymouth

Customer reviews for The Nothe Tavern

4.2 ((((* (based on 123 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (83)
  • lunch (64)
  • views (58)
  • value (42)
  • al fresco (27)
  • child friendly (22)
  • romantic (22)
  • large parties (21)
  • afternoon tea (17)
  • private dining (12)
  • business (10)
  • breakfast (8)
  • trendy (7)
  • entertainment (3)
  • luxury (3)
  • ((((( 13 August 2019 by Margaret from London

    Lovely food. Friendly, efficient service. Chose this place to entertain visitors, as one of the best places to eat in Weymouth. Wasn’t disappointed.

  • ((((* 11 August 2019 by Liz from lancashire

    Very friendly staff and nice surroundings. Also dog friendly even in the restaurant area.

  • (**** 30 July 2019 by Simon from Yeovil

    We have been to The Nothe Tavern on a few times prior to this visit. Usually everything is good. Good food and excellent service.

    Unfortunately, this time the food was good once it arrived, but the service was incredibly poor. It took just under 1 ½ hours to finish our main meal. After waiting a further 20 minutes for our plates to be taken away I went up to the kitchen waitress station to speak to one of the waitresses to say we cant stay for our desert as we would miss our train.
    The waitress replied that there is a 30-minute wait, so we left with no apology for the delay.

    What a shame as that day was my partners birthday and I wanted to give him special lunch, but it was ruined by a very disappointing experience.

    We are not sure if we will give the place another chance.

  • ((((( 23 July 2019 by Mary from Pontyclun,S.Wales

    Very much enjoyed our meals,especially the lamb Sunday roast and fish and chips.Very friendly waitress and lovely view over the harbour.Will be back again soon.

  • (**** 17 July 2019 by Paul from Portland

    I,m afraid we had ,a poor experience. On arrival we were told no cod no lamb and so on the table hadn't been cleaned and when the food arrived we had to wait for cutlery don't bother booking here

  • ((((* 30 May 2019 by David from Dorchester

    Pleasant

  • ((((( 28 May 2019 by Jackie from Luton

    Sunday roast was delicious , service great. Enjoyed it very much

  • (**** 24 May 2019 by Carol from WEYMOUTH

    Food was awful.....cold, overcooked, tasteless

  • (**** 21 May 2019 by A. from Weymouth

    We have eaten at this pub before which is why we came back as it was lovely.

    Unfortunately this time, for a 21st Birthday celebration and a late mother’s day meal, it was absolutely atrocious.

    We waiting an incredible amount of time for the food, including the starters which nobody (including manager) knew where they were. Then she announced someone had thrown them away.

    The main meals arrived cold and obviously not fresh. We had to send all except one back due to food temperature and poor quality. The waitress offered to microwave them but this is not safe to reheat food which has obviously been sitting around a while and not heated to correct temperature in the first place.

    There was very poor communication between staff who clearly hadn’t had enough training ( we were given a bottle of wine with the cork still in for example)

    I understand there have been staffing issues recently but they are now costing the reputation of what wasa lovely pub with good food. We will not be returning.

  • ((((* 17 May 2019 by Rosemary from Weymouth

    Lovely evening and we sat by the open patio windows. The food was good but l had expected a slightly different menu. Since l was last there the dining area has increased but the cosiness gone.

Unfortunately, you can't book The Nothe Tavern online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant