Reviews of The Maynard

4.5
(based on 90 reviews)
Main Road, Hope Valley, Grindleford, Yorkshire, S32 2HE
90 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Fiona M from Sheffield
    31 October 2020

    Lovely afternoon tea

  • By Sarah B from Hope Valley
    28 October 2020

    Had a great meal. Both had Steak. Him ribeye, me fillet. Both delicious. They had a steak deal as it was Wednesday which was a bonus, as we didnt know about that! Service friendly and prompt. Food value very good. Even without the steak discount. We will go back again.

  • By Judith P from Sheffield
    25 October 2020

    Lovely room; generous and tasty food. Very friendly staff.

  • By John D from Chesterfield
    21 October 2020

    Had an excellent meal at the Maynard. Attentive service, well presented food and superb quality!

  • By David S from Bakewell
    20 October 2020

    See below

  • By Andrew H from Chesterfield
    17 October 2020

    First time back at The Maynard under its new ownership, we had a fantastic experience the food was excellent with the menu having some unusual dishes, we started with a sharing platter which was fabulous. Anyone dinning here will not be disappointed.

  • By Joan P from Hope Valley
    14 October 2020

    We enjoyed our breakfast at the Maynard and pleased all the necessary Covid-19 precautions were put into place. It is in a lovely location and the staff are warm and friendly. Slight niggle was we were kept waiting for quite a while when we arrived, no-one was around despite our booking. I am not complaining, just stating a fact as times are tough enough for Hoteliers.

  • By Ben T from Derby
    13 October 2020

    Lovely restaurant area, food was delicious cant wait to pop back and try the new menu!

  • By Jean B from Sheffield
    11 October 2020

    Well spaced tables and friendly and helpful staff. Service was a bit slow but luckily we weren't in a hurry.

  • By Rebecca S from Sheffield
    9 October 2020

    We got married at the Maynard in 2016 and were very excited to return for the first time since the change of ownership and refurbishment. We were very pleased that the overall vibe of the restaurant and venue generally seem to have been retained. We were very well looked after and didn't feel too rushed despite arriving at 8pm with the new 10pm restrictions. We shared a lamb kofta platter to start and had a lamb tagine and salmon for main courses. The meals are slightly on the pricey side but the very generous portions make it worthwhile! We can't wait to come back again and would recommend the Maynard to anyone without hesitation.