map placeholder

The Game Bird

The Stafford London, 16-17 St. James's Place, London, SW1A 1NJ

((((* British
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
  • The Game Bird - London
Average
Main course: £25
Food spend: £70
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 07:00 - 10:30 & 12:00 - 22:00
Saturday & Sunday: 07:30 - 11:00 & 12:00 - 22:00.

Superb lunch at the Game Bird. Service was excellent, very comfortable ambiance and delicious food.

Beverley 13 May 2019
from London

View all 47 reviews

The Game Bird offers relaxed, informal dining any time of the day. A place to eat, drink and socialise, the focus is on modern British comfort cooking executed with style and panache, all wrapped in a seductive ambience that oozes cool sophistication.

Dedicated to following the seasons and supporting local artisans including award-winning family-owned farms, sample a ‘theatre of the senses’ menu based on uncomplicated excellence: local, seasonal produce sits alongside time-honoured British classics.

Centre of attention are the traditional handcrafted trolleys that overflow with signature dishes including meat and game, pies, puddings and stews, and a mouth-watering Sunday roast.

In a setting reminiscent of an exclusive private members club, The Game Bird London sees while intimate dining booths set against a backdrop of pale blue walls and specially commissioned artwork. The chic Champagne Bar is the place for a glass of chilled champagne or a martini cocktail before dining in the restaurant.

Find The Game Bird a 7-minute walk from Green Park Tube Station.

The Game Bird

The Stafford London, 16-17 St. James's Place, London, SW1A 1NJ

Contact +44 2075181234
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in West End of London

Customer reviews for The Game Bird

4.2 ((((* (based on 47 reviews)
85% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (23)
  • lunch (19)
  • luxury (17)
  • business (15)
  • afternoon tea (14)
  • romantic (11)
  • private dining (7)
  • value (6)
  • breakfast (3)
  • entertainment (2)
  • large parties (1)
  • views (1)
  • ((((* 5 July 2017 by Peter from London

    Quality experience

  • (((** 1 July 2017 by Lillian from Gravesend

    The food presented on the offer menu was not out of the ordinary. I chose the prawn cocktail to start which was OK but there was no lemon wedge and I had to ask for NO paprika. I chose the venison pie which was like a cottage pie rather than a pastry crust pie. I did not have a pudding but my husband and our friend did. they chose the sticky toffee pudding and said it was good. The hotel itself seemed extremely nice and the staff were very pleasant

  • (**** 27 June 2017 by Stuart from LONDON

    Very disappointing.
    The Stafford is a beautiful, classy hotel, tucked away in a corner or St James'. The restaurant is very comfortable and relaxing. However, the Bookatable offer was very poor. From the choice of 3 dishes per course, my colleague chose a prawn cocktail, which was as unexciting as it sounds, followed by fallow deer with horseradish mash. It was no more than a shepherd's pie with not even a pea or carrot as a garnish. Dessert was a Eccles cake and a piece of cheese. My choice was pea soup (OK) and then a mushroom risotto. Fine dining it wasn't, I'm afraid.
    Clearly such a restaurant won't be cheap, but the prices of the wines were eye-watering. There was only a tiny handful under £40.

  • ((((* 26 June 2017 by Harry from London

    Excellent

  • ((((* 26 June 2017 by Eddie from Birmingham

    Lovely venue with very professional and attentive staff. Good value market menu but limited selection of affordable wine with most bottles over £50

  • ((((* 25 June 2017 by Edward from London

    Comfortable hotel setting, star menu good if a bit restricted, wine by the glass good, friendly service

  • (((** 21 June 2017 by Deborah from London

    The restaurant is very pretty but lacking in atmosphere as it was empty bar our party of 7 on a Monday lunchtime. Also - it is not really sectioned off from the main hotel so it feels a bit like being in the bar rather than a restaurant.The food was nice but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • ((*** 20 June 2017 by Thomas from London

    The dishes were decidedly uninspiring. The pate was not particularly good, the main (deer pie) sounded good, but instead was a shepherds with minced meat (rather than a pastry pie with chunks of meat). It felt very basic for the price tag. The same goes for the dessert, very basic and boring. The petit fours were too sweat and sickly to eat.
    With regards to the service, we were initially attended very well, but by the time the restaurant filled out, we were ignored. We spent a while trying to catch the attention of staff in order to get the bill.
    The restaurant was also very warm and it became very uncomfortable on such a hot day.

  • ((((( 19 June 2017 by Shelagh from Brighton

    A lovely experience - every aspect from the menu to service, the music and ambience all contributed to a delightful early evening dinner.

  • (((** 18 June 2017 by Georgina from Winchester

    Lovely food with love service.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant