map placeholder

The Lion Hotel

Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY

((((* British
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 18:00

Was disappointed with cups as ther were not China Got charged £18 for 2 even when I said that there web page stated £17 ... and STILL states £17 for 2 ..did think the waitress could interact with customers more .... other than that very nice

Kerina 26 August 2017
from Shropshire

View all 52 reviews

A Grade I-listed setting in the heart of picturesque Shrewsbury, The Lion Hotel presents a refined take on afternoon tea. As well as boasting pristinely manicured grounds, this stunning 16th-century building is decorated in period style.

Decked out in twinkling chandeliers, gilded mirrors and rich fabrics, The Lion Hotel dining room is a suitably luxurious setting for afternoon tea in Shropshire.

Indulge in a delightful afternoon tea stand at The Lion in Shrewsbury, piled high with traditional finger sandwiches filled with smoked salmon, home-cooked ham and cream cheese & cucumber, fresh homemade scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, and hand-crafted cakes. Gluten-free and vegetarian sandwiches can also be served on request.

Evoking the elegance of a bygone era, The Lion Hotel is found 11 minutes’ walk from Shrewsbury Train Station.

The Lion Hotel

Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY

Contact +44 1743353107
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Shropshire

See all restaurants in Shrewsbury

Customer reviews for The Lion Hotel

3.8 ((((* (based on 52 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (36)
  • value (9)
  • romantic (3)
  • dinner (2)
  • lunch (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • private dining (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • business (1)
  • child friendly (1)
  • large parties (1)
  • (((** 21 March 2016 by Dave from Ramsey

    Lovely building, unfortunately there was also a party or function going on at the rear of the venue and the staff seemed somewhat overwhelmed. However, their attitude was excellent and they rose to the challenge, food was good and tea was good and strong. Would have liked to have visited without a function on but would go back.

  • ((((( 7 March 2016 by Tracey from Shrewsbury

    Lovely setting , friendly helpful staff great value for money

  • ((((( 7 March 2016 by Penny from Shrewsbury

    Booked an afternoon tea for my mother in law for Mothers day, we were sat on sofas by the open fire, everything was perfect, the food, the service, and a lovely relaxed atmosphere

  • ((((( 19 February 2016 by Rebecca from Shrewsbury

    We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea at the Lion Hotel - the selection of food was perfect, the quality excellent and the touches to detail made it a very enjoyable experience. The staff were friendly and efficient. The atmosphere was great too.

  • ((((( 18 February 2016 by Geoff from Shrewsbury

    Incredibly good value and great quality alongside friendly, unfussy service.

  • ((((( 10 February 2016 by Paul from Shrewsbury

    We had afternoon tea. Very reasonably priced. I had green tea which is usually a disappointment but it was served in a large pot. It started excellently and stayed that way throughout. The horrible weather outside made the log fire even more enjoyable. The food was excellent and nearly defeated us with the quantity. We stayed a long time and were not hassled at all. A very relaxing atmosphere. Slightly faded excellence but very comfortable. Parking was free.

  • ((((* 25 January 2016 by Ann from Shrewsbury

    Afternoon tea was as expected, delicious sandwiches and selection of bite sized cakes. Service was slow and would have preferred bone china crockery.

  • ((((* 23 January 2016 by Sadie from Shrewsbury

    It really was lovely and great value for money and great service. It was a beautiful location we went for my finances birthday as a little present and he also throughly enjoyed it.

  • ((((* 10 January 2016 by Yvonne from Shrewsbury

    after the disapointment of the booking, the afternoon tea was excelent with a good selection cakes and sandwhiches,lots of tea.the staff were friendly and accommodating, the room had an old world charm and was very comfortable. will go again.

  • ((((( 31 December 2015 by Mandy from Shropshire

    Lovely relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff and a nice afternoon tea with good variety of sandwiches and cakes. No problem.when we asked for more coffee. Good value for money, highly recommend

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant