map placeholder

The Lion Hotel

Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY

((((* British
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 18:00

Was disappointed with cups as ther were not China Got charged £18 for 2 even when I said that there web page stated £17 ... and STILL states £17 for 2 ..did think the waitress could interact with customers more .... other than that very nice

Kerina 26 August 2017
from Shropshire

View all 52 reviews

A Grade I-listed setting in the heart of picturesque Shrewsbury, The Lion Hotel presents a refined take on afternoon tea. As well as boasting pristinely manicured grounds, this stunning 16th-century building is decorated in period style.

Decked out in twinkling chandeliers, gilded mirrors and rich fabrics, The Lion Hotel dining room is a suitably luxurious setting for afternoon tea in Shropshire.

Indulge in a delightful afternoon tea stand at The Lion in Shrewsbury, piled high with traditional finger sandwiches filled with smoked salmon, home-cooked ham and cream cheese & cucumber, fresh homemade scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, and hand-crafted cakes. Gluten-free and vegetarian sandwiches can also be served on request.

Evoking the elegance of a bygone era, The Lion Hotel is found 11 minutes’ walk from Shrewsbury Train Station.

The Lion Hotel

Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY

Contact +44 1743353107
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Shropshire

See all restaurants in Shrewsbury

Customer reviews for The Lion Hotel

3.8 ((((* (based on 52 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (36)
  • value (9)
  • romantic (3)
  • dinner (2)
  • lunch (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • private dining (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • business (1)
  • child friendly (1)
  • large parties (1)
  • (((** 23 August 2016 by Sandra from shrewsbury

    Afternoon tea was not as enjoyable as I had hoped. The hotel was very dated and dreary. Old features are great but this was sad. The table was not in a dining room but the corner of a bar. The table was not big enough to be presented correctly and wobbled dangerously. The sandwiches were well filled but had been made long in advance and the bread had become very dry at the edges. The tea pot needed a tea cosy as the pot became cool very quickly so the 2nd cup was undrinkable. The scone was again quite old. Only the carrot cake was truly good.

  • (**** 10 August 2016 by M from Shrewsbury

    Very disappointed! We weren't expected (even though we had booked), dietary needs not even mentioned so for one of us the food was limited, even though it was stated on the booking form, dirty tables left. We were told to go and wait by a bar for someone to show us to a table, no one came so went back and told to sit and wait. Food was average and the tea was like dish water. It was quite upsetting as it was a special occasion for my sisters birthday so wanted something special as I thought it would of been. Sadly won't be going again or recommending. Such a beautiful and historic part of Shrewsbury or so we thought. Overall in need of a lot of tlc for the building and staff.

  • ((*** 3 August 2016 by Sadie from Shrewsbury

    I was expecting a lot from the afternoon tea at the Lion but unfortunately I was very disappointed. Even though the hotel were very accommodating in providing particular sandwiches for myself and daughter the quality was very average and the cakes I think we're not freshly baked as they did not seem very fresh. The cream was not blotted cream as stated it was wiped double cream. The teapot spouts were all damaged and the waitress failed to bring us crockery and cutlery.

  • (**** 12 July 2016 by Mandy from Shrewsbury

    I so wanted our afternoon tea at the Lion Hotel to be good, This hotel, with its position at the top of Wyle Cop, should be the jewel in Shrewsbury's crown & yet sadly this afternoon tea was yet another let down.
    We arrive, young waiter hiding behind the bar, empty, dirty dishes and cups on an empty table. Tray just left on another empty table. Just one other table occupied. Tables are sticky and in desperate need of a clean. The "background" music at a level where hearing your companions talk is difficult.
    Young waiter, who is keen but has no hospitality training, doesn't take us to a table, just asks from behind the bar whether we want tea or coffee. I ask for him to give some time for all of us to arrive.
    We sit, at an empty table still looking at dirty cups etc on adjoining table plus salt, pepper & vinegar obviously left from lunch. Another member of staff brings a coffee for the other table but leaves dirty crockery as she walked past. Waiter again comes over, asks about tea or coffee but makes no attempt to clean tables or lay up our table for the afternoon tea we had booked. Finally I suggest to him to clear adjoining tables which he does.
    We order 4 afternoon teas; waiter brings the tea cups & saucers, tea arrives but still no cutlery etc. The cups and saucers are vintage, mismatched but that is fine - although milk in a gravey boat is interesting! The food arrives but still no knives so we have to ask for those.
    The actual food is OK, well actually the scones & the carrot cake are excellent. Sandwiches bear little resemblance to the descriptions (egg & cress sandwiches had no cress, home cooked ham obviously shop bought) but the sandwiches are served without their crusts and are fresh which is good.
    Trying to pay for the meal was a farce - but after three attempts we managed to get grumpy receptionist to take card payment
    Where is the supervision & training of the young staff? Where was the manager to ensure service went well?

  • ((((* 12 July 2016 by Donald from broseley

    We enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea in a lovely old venue waited on by very friendly staff

  • ((((( 3 July 2016 by Michael from Shrewsbury

    We had Afternoon tea. The food was very good, with a nice selection of sandwich fillings and freshly made cakes. The only negative comment we would make is we were disappointed that the scones were served with whipped cream rather than the expected clotted cream. The lounge where we were served our tea was comfortably furnished and had a calm, relaxing atmosphere. The staff were polite and attentive. All in all it was a very enjoyable experience.

  • ((((* 31 May 2016 by Linda from Shrewsbury

    Great service, value for money, tasty and in an olde worlde environment .

  • ((((* 3 May 2016 by Wayne from Birmingham

    Great value with good food in nice surroundings. The staff were very accommodating.

  • ((((( 3 May 2016 by Melissa from Broseley Wood

    Booked afternoon tea for my mum and I. We had a relaxing time. The service was great and food lovely.

  • ((((( 31 March 2016 by Alison from Shrewsbury

    Excellent afternoon tea

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant