map placeholder

The Lion Hotel

Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY

((((* British
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 18:00

Was disappointed with cups as ther were not China Got charged £18 for 2 even when I said that there web page stated £17 ... and STILL states £17 for 2 ..did think the waitress could interact with customers more .... other than that very nice

Kerina 26 August 2017
from Shropshire

View all 52 reviews

A Grade I-listed setting in the heart of picturesque Shrewsbury, The Lion Hotel presents a refined take on afternoon tea. As well as boasting pristinely manicured grounds, this stunning 16th-century building is decorated in period style.

Decked out in twinkling chandeliers, gilded mirrors and rich fabrics, The Lion Hotel dining room is a suitably luxurious setting for afternoon tea in Shropshire.

Indulge in a delightful afternoon tea stand at The Lion in Shrewsbury, piled high with traditional finger sandwiches filled with smoked salmon, home-cooked ham and cream cheese & cucumber, fresh homemade scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, and hand-crafted cakes. Gluten-free and vegetarian sandwiches can also be served on request.

Evoking the elegance of a bygone era, The Lion Hotel is found 11 minutes’ walk from Shrewsbury Train Station.

The Lion Hotel

Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY

Contact +44 1743353107
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Shropshire

See all restaurants in Shrewsbury

Customer reviews for The Lion Hotel

3.8 ((((* (based on 52 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (36)
  • value (9)
  • romantic (3)
  • dinner (2)
  • lunch (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • private dining (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • business (1)
  • child friendly (1)
  • large parties (1)
  • ((((* 24 January 2017 by Kath from Denholme, Bradford

    Nice atmosphere. Staff lovely. Had afternoon tea which was very nice .

  • ((*** 21 December 2016 by Christine from Telford

    Very disappointed. Pot of lukewarm weak tea served 15 minutes after arrival followed 5 minutes later by a wobbly slanted unappetising looking tiered tea plate of food. Sandwiches were okay but the cakes looked a little tired and bland. My daughter had to go and look for someone to ask for some more tea and quite a while later a lady produced some warm water to top up our already very weak tea. No one came to ask if everything was okay but my daughter said that when I visited the ladies room a man in a coat did ask her. She was polite. I would probably have said I was disappointed. Although to be fair the food tasted better than it looked!
    When we went to pay for our Afternoon Tea we were not asked if everything had been satisfactory but were told to enjoy the rest of our day.
    It did not appear to be busy in the hotel and we were the only persons in the tearoom. I must say this is the only Afternoon Tea I have not really enjoyed.
    I definitely would not recommend here to anyone for afternoon tea.

  • (**** 19 December 2016 by Becky from Shrewsbury

    Every one was very helpful
    Nice sofas to relax on .
    Scones were over done brown and cakes carrot and flapjack
    Not would you would give for afternoon tea .
    I wouldn't go back as £27 for that and few butties on plates
    Not that good ...
    Thought we were getting an offer on group on but was same as in hotel ...

  • ((*** 16 December 2016 by Moira from Shrewsbury

    There were not expecting us, we did feel slightly in the way to begin, however, problem resolved and we had choice of tables. The once lovely sofas were very saggy and past there best! Sandwiches and scones were delicious, cakes left a lot to be desired. Staff were without exception friendly and helpful.

  • (**** 1 December 2016 by Lisa from Shrewsbury

    Waited 25 minutes , my mum is disabled , cold tea and coffee , sandwiches vile and not homemade cake , would never visit again , it was my mums bday treat and I felt embarrassed I got her a disappointing present

  • ((((( 14 November 2016 by Patricia from WALSALL

    Lovely afternoon tea

  • ((((* 8 November 2016 by David from Church stretton

    We had afternoon tea. In Lovely relaxed relaxing surroundings. Most enjoyable .

  • (**** 13 October 2016 by Cheryl from Shrewsbury

    We were disappointed with the lack of service and Absolutely no attention to detail.
    Poor quality food...dry sandwiches..minimal Cake nothing fancy...no offer of a top up tea or coffee.
    Poor Cutlery..plates ..no napkins/serviettes.
    Poor Customer Service

  • (((** 3 October 2016 by Rehanna from Shrewsbury

    The price was more that what the booking stated. I asked for no fish on one of the disks and salmon was sent, it was sent back and then when it returned there was far less sandwiches. Other than that it was an ok experience. Gorgeous flapjack and scone, tea was a bit weak.

  • ((((* 10 September 2016 by Vivienne from Shrewsbury

    Afternoon tea was pleasant, China just like grannie had which was nice, sandwiches fresh and delicious scones warm and home made. Carrot cake strange consistency and difficult to eat other cake was flapjack I would have preferred a lighter sponge or if a biscuit shortbread. Sparking wine ordered as the tea was a birthday treat was 9.50 a glass and was from a previously opened bottle so was a disappointment also not cold enough and served in the wrong shaped glass when flat very quickly

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant