map placeholder

The Lion Hotel

Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY

((((* British
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
  •  - Shropshire
Opening hours
Monday to Sunday: 12:00 - 18:00

Was disappointed with cups as ther were not China Got charged £18 for 2 even when I said that there web page stated £17 ... and STILL states £17 for 2 ..did think the waitress could interact with customers more .... other than that very nice

Kerina 26 August 2017
from Shropshire

View all 52 reviews

A Grade I-listed setting in the heart of picturesque Shrewsbury, The Lion Hotel presents a refined take on afternoon tea. As well as boasting pristinely manicured grounds, this stunning 16th-century building is decorated in period style.

Decked out in twinkling chandeliers, gilded mirrors and rich fabrics, The Lion Hotel dining room is a suitably luxurious setting for afternoon tea in Shropshire.

Indulge in a delightful afternoon tea stand at The Lion in Shrewsbury, piled high with traditional finger sandwiches filled with smoked salmon, home-cooked ham and cream cheese & cucumber, fresh homemade scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, and hand-crafted cakes. Gluten-free and vegetarian sandwiches can also be served on request.

Evoking the elegance of a bygone era, The Lion Hotel is found 11 minutes’ walk from Shrewsbury Train Station.

The Lion Hotel

Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, SY1 1UY

Contact +44 1743353107
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Shropshire

See all restaurants in Shrewsbury

Customer reviews for The Lion Hotel

3.8 ((((* (based on 52 reviews)
76% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (36)
  • value (9)
  • romantic (3)
  • dinner (2)
  • lunch (2)
  • luxury (2)
  • private dining (2)
  • breakfast (1)
  • business (1)
  • child friendly (1)
  • large parties (1)
  • ((((* 30 March 2017 by Dawn from Walsall

    We booked for afternoon tea as a Mothers Day treat for my Mom. Beautiful location, staff were very friendly and helpful. Only disapoiting thing was the cakes were not homemade.

  • ((((* 27 March 2017 by Ann from Shrewsbury

    Lovely afternoon Tea for mother's day. Restaurant was very busy but the service was still great. Food was lovely with a nice choice of finger sandwiches.

  • (((** 26 March 2017 by Nicola from Shrewsbury

    I had booked several weeks in advance for afternoon tea with mum as a treat for Mother's Day. We arrived and although they had reserved us a table, the chairs had been taken so we had to help the waitress find some available ones. It was rather chaotic to begin with as they were busy and only two member so staff apparent for both the bar and waitress service. Mum was really thirsty and requested three times a glass of tap water before it arrived.
    The afternoon tea was nice and very good value for money - £17.00 for two, so can't complain too much. I just think they needed more staff especially on the Saturday before Mothering Sunday.

  • (((** 20 March 2017 by Katy from Shrewsbury

    I came here with a friend for afternoon tea. Service was prompt but our waiter was brusque. We enjoyed the scones and coffee very much, the sandwich fillings were not as advertised and no explanation was given. Decor is lovely, also pretty china crockery and great toilets.

  • ((((( 12 March 2017 by Louisa from Shrewsbury

    Relaxing afternoon catching up with the girls, staff very friendly and would defiantly Recommend to other people

  • ((((* 11 March 2017 by Kate from Shrewsbury

    Enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea served in proper China teacups with sandwiches,scones with cream and a selection of cakes. Staff were friendly and obliging if a tad slow. nice , atmospheric old building. Fresh flowers and nicer cakes would have made it all a bit more of an occasion.

  • (((** 27 February 2017 by Lauren from Shrewsbury

    We booked weeks in advance, arrived and were asked to take a seat. We were left waiting half an hour! We enquired as to our table, three different people came and went. Eventually they brought us tea at the tiny table we were sat at. Not suitable for 4 people, or appropriate for eating at. After waiting again for 10 minutes, we were seated at a table that we had reserved. The actual afternoon tea was good, they brought us Prosecco as an apology. We couldn't eat all the cakes, and they said the would box them. They brought an old Tupperware box that originally had cheese in it, and sadly stunk of cheese too. We ended up wrapping them in napkins. What should have been a lovely afternoon tea was sadly let down. Especially disappointing as it was a surprise for our friends 50th. I dont think I'll be returning

  • ((((* 23 February 2017 by Elaine from TELFORD

    Very nice experience.

  • ((((( 7 February 2017 by Helen from Shrewsbury

    Great afternoon tea. We were sat by the big fire and treated to lovely food and cakes. Very attentive service.

  • (((** 29 January 2017 by Hazel from Shrewsbury

    Five of us had the Afternoon Tea, booked for 1.00p.m.. Unfortunately it was a Saturday and their kitchen was very busy, so we didn't get served until a bit after 1.30. It spoilt the occasion a bit, but the meal was very good, and the staff friendly.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant