map placeholder

The Lion - Farningham

High Street, Farningham, DA4 0DP

((((* British
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
  •  - Kent
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Clare was an excellent waitress. Food was good although my butterscotch pudding was a bit small but tasted great

Peter 07 August 2019
from Belvedere

View all 79 reviews

A grand and ancient country pub with views over the River Darent, The Lion – Farningham dates back to the 16th century, and offers well-loved British pub cuisine. It features a combination of traditional and modern furnishings, through the cosy brick hearth and plush armchairs, but also modern art and colourful curtains and cushions. The food can also be enjoyed from outside, in the pretty al fresco garden.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Lion menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Lion ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Lion is just 4 minutes’ drive from Farningham Road Train Station, in the scenic Kent.

The Lion - Farningham

High Street, Farningham, DA4 0DP

Contact +44 1322860621
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Kent

Customer reviews for The Lion - Farningham

4.0 ((((* (based on 79 reviews)
88% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (58)
  • lunch (51)
  • value (34)
  • views (31)
  • child friendly (25)
  • romantic (23)
  • al fresco (19)
  • large parties (16)
  • private dining (12)
  • afternoon tea (8)
  • trendy (7)
  • business (4)
  • luxury (4)
  • breakfast (2)
  • entertainment (1)
  • ((((( 29 November 2016 by John from Dartford

    very busy so was right to book. Had a short wait before being seated,Menu was varied,would think there was something on there for everyone.
    I had the roast Beef my friend had the roast turkey,both you could pay extra to enlarge.
    Food was very good. There was no rush to get you out the door as in some establishments.
    Overall I found it very good.

  • ((((( 21 November 2016 by Dom from Gravesend

    Nice pub with good features. Food was nice and the staff were friendly.

  • ((((* 16 November 2016 by Marion from Rochester

    Very gd service and lovely meal

  • ((((* 8 November 2016 by Michelle from London

    We all had the Sunday roast and it was one of the best I have ever had.

  • ((((* 8 November 2016 by Tracey from London

    I enjoy the dining experience at this establishment but was a little let down on this occasion. Shortage of staff and inexperienced staff made service a bit disjointed. We ordered extra gravy for our mains but this came out with the starter, sent back to keep warm and when our mains came out the gravy didn't, the extra side of veg came out once we had nearly finished as did the condiments. We received the wrong order and had to send away. But the food itself was of its usual good quality and our actual server Julie was fantastic, but she was clearly stretched and those assisting her in her area let her down ( but that could be due to being new/lack of experience). Julie was very good, friendly, chatty, all you expect in a host/waitress. Despite this small blip I would still revisit and recommend. The bar facilities are lovely with the open fire to sit in front of. And when the weather is good outside facilities are brilliant for families, dog owners.

  • ((((* 8 November 2016 by Keith from South Darenth

    Been here a few times now and found the food really good and a great menu making your choice hard, sometimes the time between courses can be lengthy but it is very busy popular place.
    Staff have always been great and helpful an enjoyable experience for the whole family.

  • ((((* 3 November 2016 by Mandy from London

    Loverly roast

  • ((((* 29 October 2016 by Elaine from SWANLEY village

    Very friendly and efficient staff, very prompt service, good value food.

  • ((((( 24 October 2016 by Geoffrey from Bexleyheath

    My friends and I had a super evening the food was great together with the service.
    We will certainly go again

  • ((((* 23 October 2016 by Janice from Royal Borough of Greenwich

    Very pleasant surroundings and restaurant. Tempting menu. Very reasonable prices. Good service. Only discomfort was loudness of music.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant