Reviews of The Lion - Farningham

4.0
(based on 82 reviews)
High Street, Farningham, London, DA4 0DP
82 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Maggie D from greenhithe
    7 March 2020

    Lovely friendly staff, food was excellent. Would definitely recommend this restaurant

  • By Linda G from Dartford
    13 February 2020

    They cater for vegans It is easy to book on line

  • By Simon P from Sevenoaks
    12 January 2020

    The tempura prawns were over cooked and came out cold, Of the mains, I had, the roast Lamb, potatoes were again over cooked and the vegetables were `limp' the Lamb was however good. The deserts came out on warm plates (Eton Mess, and ice creams !) no dessert cutlery? ( bit picky on my part), I had ordered a pint of `Tribute' that apparently had run out of stock, this was replaced without me being asked for a different brand (I would probably have accepted this as a replacement anyway, but I should have been informed that it was off the menu) and to rub salt into the wound it was a short measure. The waitress was very good though ( She didn't supply the drinks)

  • By Susan B from Essex
    22 August 2019

    Lovely location and pub/restaurant. Food good but service was poor. Waited over an hour for main meal, didn’t bother with a pudding as was told that was a 45 minute wait. Coffees in the garden also took an age. Will return but not for food.

  • By Peter B from Belvedere
    4 August 2019

    Clare was an excellent waitress. Food was good although my butterscotch pudding was a bit small but tasted great

  • By Rosalind H from South Darenth
    30 April 2019

    Meal for Crib team age range 19 - 75 pleasant experience for all with variety of food for all different tastes.

  • By Anthony R from Horns Cross
    1 January 2019

    We have eaten here several times before and more recently have particularly enjoyed the Vintage Inn era. The place is really comfortable, full of interest and character. The food has also been intereresting and enjoyable with good service to complement it. However, on this occasion, the experience was not up to par! Some dishes were not available and some delivered were not inspiring. The special Prawn cocktail turned out to be a dinner plate covered in chopped lettuce with a lonely little pile of bland prawns on one edge, the treacle pudding consisted of two artistically placed slices that were verging on dry and pretty tasteless, the gammon I had was also pretty dry, the skin on the belly of pork was streatchy, the baked Alaska was not a baked Alaska and even after sharing it around, we could not get rid of it. It has to go. We had to chase up the waiters several times just to get another bottle of wine to the point of being embarrassing. On the positive side, the fish was excellent, the atmosphere was excellent and when we got the attention of an excellent waitress we have seen before, Serice was restored. I suspect that everybody in the place was pretty worn out at the end of the Xmas/New year period because this is not reprentative of one of our favourite places. As it happened, except for chasing up service, nobody made a fuss because the atmosphere and company overshadowed the shortfalls. The issue is that the shortfalls will live in my companions minds and as I recommended the venue, I felt obliged to comment. Having said all of that, This was not reprentative of what I consider to be one of the best Inns and Pub chains. If this had been my first visit, I would have made a strong complaint at the time and not revisited! I am confident I can continue to visit the Lion and enjoy an excellent experience. On that basis, I would be quite happy if this feedback was not made public but used as Heads Up for internal consideration. Score based on this visit

  • By Paul K from Belvedere
    3 October 2018

    Very nice pub, very nice food.

  • By Mavis Z from Dartford
    17 July 2018

    Waitress service very good, but would prefer it if they didn't interrupt quiet so often when we are eating to see if all was ok. If it wasn't I am sure we would let them know straight away.

  • By Caroline W from Chislehurst
    26 March 2018

    Very helpful staff, good food, nice ambience