Reviews of The King's Head - Epping

3.3
(based on 13 reviews)
High Road North Weald, Epping, East of England, CM16 6BU
13 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By David N from Harlow
    19 May 2018

    We came to the Pub for a Stag Night meal and some drinks (6 of us). It was a very good atmosphere and the meal was excellent. Although the meal was booked for 5.00pm we stayed until 11.30pm enjoying the bar and celebratory atmosphere of the Royal Wedding day. Particular thanks to Ashleigh who made us feel very welcome

  • By Norma BLAMEY B from Canvey Island
    9 December 2017

    Excellent serving staff. Friendly, cheerful and helpful. However, the same cannot be said of the person who showed us to our table. Brusque is the best word to describe her. Not welcoming at all. It took ages for a simple coffee or tea to arrive. Our meals were similarly slow. When it did arrive our meals were cool and overcooked. My sister's meal was returned for additional heating. For what we actually had and it's quality it was expensive and not good value for money. I submitted s similar review about 2 years ago and nothing has changed. VERY disappointing. Your serving staff are very badly let down by the rest of the establishment.

  • By Katy W from London
    5 March 2017

    Good service. Great lamb shank.

  • By Patsy H from Chelmsford
    2 February 2017

    Very pleasant this is a local eatery for us we go often and its always good.

  • By Michelle T from epping
    22 November 2016

    Fantastic evening, great service and food. Pub looked fantastic, really cosy and welcoming ready for Christmas.

  • By Alan G from Welwyn
    25 September 2016

    On arrival we found the pub to be welcoming and full of character, we got drinks and were shown to our table , we have found it difficult to get a good roast dinner, and sure enough the Kings head did not disappoint! The food was cold ,roast potatoes were older cooked , so we're the parsnips, gravy was more like soup? We sent the meals back and they brought new meals, which we ate , but wasn't impressed at all. Staff didn't seem to be experienced,total cost £52 ! With drinks . Not impressed , won't be going back!!!

  • By Sue S from Essex
    10 September 2016

    Good service, good food

  • By Benjamin G from Chigwell
    7 August 2016

    Food was very poor, service very slow, despite not busy. Meat was very tough, veg over cooked. Very disappointing!

  • By Valerie A from North Weald Bassett
    28 May 2016

    Staff friendly and smiling. Food left a lot to be desired. Two dining had the vegetarian option that day which was cheese and potato pie. Pastry case hard and cheese only filled half . Both diners left the top half of the pastry case. I ordered butternut, beetroot and onion quiche. This was certainly not a quiche which I was served. Small cheesy pastry with bits of the vegetable cut into very very small pieces, grilled and placed on top. Only three pieces of each vegetable.! I think the prices charged for these dishes was extortionate in view of the quality of the food. I dine out quite a lot and this has to be the worst food I have been served with for a very long time. I would usually complain at the time but I could see that this would have been a complete waste of time. The Kings Head is a lovely venue and have been dining there since the middle of the 80's but will think twice before going back there again.

  • By Paul C from dunstable
    21 May 2016

    Good food and service, excellent choice of drinks, best I have known for a chain. One great touch was the fact that you could order a mini desert and coffee, great innovation that proved popular with most of the group.

2 Next page