map placeholder

The Jack Rabbit

8-9 Howeson Road, Plymouth, PL6 5DA

((((* British
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Food and service was excellent

Rosemary 21 December 2018
from Plymouth

View all 81 reviews

Just a short distance from the coast and the beautiful Dartmoor National Park, The Jack Rabbit enjoys a great location near Plymouth. In a classic red brick and cream building, it boasts well-loved British pub food, plush sofas and a charming brick hearth. This fire can warm winter meals, while the garden can be used for summer dining.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Jack Rabbit menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Jack Rabbit ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Jack Rabbit is just 10 minutes’ drive from central Plymouth.

The Jack Rabbit

8-9 Howeson Road, Plymouth, PL6 5DA

Contact +44 1752783585
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Plymouth

Customer reviews for The Jack Rabbit

4.0 ((((* (based on 81 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (68)
  • lunch (49)
  • value (39)
  • child friendly (19)
  • business (18)
  • private dining (16)
  • large parties (14)
  • romantic (12)
  • afternoon tea (11)
  • breakfast (10)
  • al fresco (8)
  • trendy (4)
  • entertainment (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • ((((* 1 October 2016 by Patricia from Plymouth

    Enjoyable dining experience. Booked table was ready on time, waiting staff were pleasant, food was good.

  • ((((( 15 September 2016 by Carol from Plymouth

    Lunch with my daughters as birthday treat for me. They are busy ladies who both work so also a special girls day for us to spend quality time together. The Jack Rabbit offers comprehensive lunch and specials menus to choose from. We are all members of Slimming World so it is important we can enjoy our dining out experience and stay reasonably within plan. This was easily achieved with good choices across the menu and being able to ask for small changes, swapping chips for salads, sauces served separate etc. The food was excellent, service outstanding, thanks to Wendy, for looking after us. I chose sirloin steak with salad, also ordered was a beef rib with horse radish mash, delicious and the Lamb tegine with cous cus also delicious, infact my daughter posted on face book that it was her best meal ever. Desserts were yummy and overall a delicious meal. The restaurant was very busy but we didn't really notice as we were made to feel very special, orders taken and served promptly. We were given time to make our choices and ask about items on the menu. This is a favourite eating place for us as a family and with friends. It always delivers excellent food and service wether Adult dining with friends or family dining with the Grandchildren. Most important when eating out...it is easily affordable and offers variety from snacks to main meals. The restaurant also accepts Gourmet card offering 25% discount (T&c's apply) it also has regular Vintage Inn offers and discounts and Free bottle of sparkling wine For Birthday treat when four or more people dining if you sign up to email alerts. ( I will be eating there with friends later this week to enjoy my birthday bubbles.) Overall an excellent experience. Precious time with my girls over a lovely meal and a fabulous Birthday for me. Thank you to the team at Jack Rabbit.

  • ((*** 25 August 2016 by Maggie from Plymouth

    Food was underwhelming. I chose a dish (risotto) that was pictured on the website: a glossy, firm risotto with scallops, cherry tomatoes on top. What I in fact got was a soupy bowl with loads of liquid, scallops floating on top and no tomatoes. Quality control, in terms of consistency across the vintage inns group, isn't there.

    I asked to see the manager on leaving, but was kept waiting for 5 minutes and gave up.

  • ((((( 13 July 2016 by Amy from Plymouth

    Lovely meal, really good customer service, warm atmosphere. Went the extra mile on the pudding for a guests birthday.

  • ((((* 3 July 2016 by Kelvin from Plymouth

    Good local restaurant. Typical chain food, but still very nice. Good staff.

  • (((** 17 June 2016 by Paula from Plymouth

    Good atmosphere and service. Thought menu a little limited and two of days specials not available..at 7.30?.

  • (((** 3 June 2016 by Marie from Plymouth

    The waitress was very attentive but run off her feet. More staff needed to supply a quicker service . The food was good. The front of house needs to be a bit more welcoming, he ignored us when we were waiting to pay for our meal although he could see the waitress was busy taking orders from a large party.

  • ((((* 25 May 2016 by Phil from Taunton

    We had the Sunday roast, the beef and turkey were excellent, well presented and well cooked.

  • (((** 22 May 2016 by Julie from Plymouth

    Great location fantastic food
    Staff not so welcoming

  • ((((( 17 May 2016 by Kim from Plymouth

    Our first time at The Jack Rabbit. I loved it. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was very clean and tidy. Our waiter Steve was very polite funny and very helpful many thanks for making our visit a lovely experience.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant