map placeholder

The Jack Rabbit

8-9 Howeson Road, Plymouth, PL6 5DA

((((* British
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Food and service was excellent

Rosemary 21 December 2018
from Plymouth

View all 81 reviews

Just a short distance from the coast and the beautiful Dartmoor National Park, The Jack Rabbit enjoys a great location near Plymouth. In a classic red brick and cream building, it boasts well-loved British pub food, plush sofas and a charming brick hearth. This fire can warm winter meals, while the garden can be used for summer dining.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Jack Rabbit menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Jack Rabbit ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Jack Rabbit is just 10 minutes’ drive from central Plymouth.

The Jack Rabbit

8-9 Howeson Road, Plymouth, PL6 5DA

Contact +44 1752783585
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Plymouth

Customer reviews for The Jack Rabbit

4.0 ((((* (based on 81 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (68)
  • lunch (49)
  • value (39)
  • child friendly (19)
  • business (18)
  • private dining (16)
  • large parties (14)
  • romantic (12)
  • afternoon tea (11)
  • breakfast (10)
  • al fresco (8)
  • trendy (4)
  • entertainment (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • ((((* 28 January 2017 by Suzanne from Plymouth

    The overall evening was excellent. The waitress - Veronika - was very good and friendly. All the dishes we had were very good - particularly the Cod and chips and the steak.

  • (((** 27 January 2017 by Barbara from Plymouth

    The food and table service was excellent, how ever the bar staff were slow and spoke to you as they were turning away....not helpful.
    Shame really why don't they give the customer their full attention ? After all they are paying their wages.

  • ((((* 18 January 2017 by Richard from Plymouth

    Good. Food good and service too.

  • ((((* 17 January 2017 by Hazel from Plymouth

    All ways good service. However the fish left a lot to be desired. They did exchange it for an alternative saying they'd had problems with the fish all week. No complaints as situation resolved.

  • ((((( 16 January 2017 by Carol from Plymouth

    The service was very good, even though it was very busy we were not under any pressure to hurry with our meal. The food was excellent. All in all a good experience and will definitely go back.

  • ((((( 16 January 2017 by Mark from Plymouth

    The restaurant is lovely friendly very easy to book

  • (((** 10 January 2017 by Tim from Plymouth

    We are regular diners at this restaurant. Invariably the food is good and service prompt and efficient. On this occasion my wife had the fish and chips which unfortunately was 'rubbery and tough and not flakey'. In addition my son paid the bill £52 and it was not until later at home that we found out our 25% discount had not been applied to the bill (ref4633a9233).

  • ((((* 9 January 2017 by Tony from plymouth

    Enjoyable evening. Steak was well cooked but plate was rather sparse. An option of green vegetables would have been nice. Waitresses were pleasant without being over bearing.

  • ((((( 5 January 2017 by Helen from Plymouth

    Lovely ambiance log fire burning, food was good and the service was attentive prompt and not intrusive, overall a lovely place to have a relaxing meal, I would take my family there and will certainly be going back again.

  • (((** 3 January 2017 by ANDY from South Brent

    Unfortunately we had to leave as they had had a fire the day before, so couldn't cook steaks.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant