map placeholder

The Jack Rabbit

8-9 Howeson Road, Plymouth, PL6 5DA

((((* British
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
  •  - Devon
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

This is the 2nd visit for Sunday lunch and it was beautiful

Karen 10 September 2019
from Plymouth

View all 84 reviews

Just a short distance from the coast and the beautiful Dartmoor National Park, The Jack Rabbit enjoys a great location near Plymouth. In a classic red brick and cream building, it boasts well-loved British pub food, plush sofas and a charming brick hearth. This fire can warm winter meals, while the garden can be used for summer dining.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Jack Rabbit menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Jack Rabbit ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Jack Rabbit is just 10 minutes’ drive from central Plymouth.

The Jack Rabbit

8-9 Howeson Road, Plymouth, PL6 5DA

Contact +44 1752783585
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Devon

See all restaurants in Plymouth

Customer reviews for The Jack Rabbit

4.0 ((((* (based on 84 reviews)
91% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (70)
  • lunch (51)
  • value (39)
  • child friendly (19)
  • business (18)
  • private dining (16)
  • large parties (14)
  • romantic (12)
  • afternoon tea (11)
  • breakfast (10)
  • al fresco (8)
  • trendy (4)
  • entertainment (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • (((** 28 November 2017 by Thomas from Plymouth

    After booking a table there was still a 45 min wait on food, starter was cold, other part of meal was ok. I don’t think they had enough staff and was not prepared.

  • (((** 10 September 2017 by Lynette from Plymouth

    Excellent friendly service. Unfortunately of the 4 of us myself and a friend had fish in batter and we both had to remove the batter as it was under cooked.

  • ((((( 6 August 2017 by Jo from Plymouth

    It was our first visit to the Jack Rabbit. The layout was inviting, the tables were nicely spaced out and the decor was lovely.
    Our waitress was attentive, friendly and helpful and was able to answer our questions. Overall the food was lovely, my son's girlfriends favourite meal is roast. I checked online first and noticed a roast chicken on the menu. Out of the whole menu, she did choose the roast chicken. When it came out, the whole bird minus the drumsticks, some slightly coloured sliced new potatoes and veg, I had to chuckle to myself. I asked her if she was ok with that and as it was the first time we had met her I think she felt embarrassed and said yes. She struggled to cut and eat it. We did say to the waitress that maybe it could be taken from the bone and sliced to make it more appealing, maybe this could have been offered as an option. My creme brûlée was lovely, although the topping was solid, and the biscuit wasn't shortbread.
    As a chef and teacher myself, this was my only critique, we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and entire visit and would definitely come again.

  • ((((( 22 June 2017 by Hazel from Plymouth

    Excellent service and neal

  • (**** 2 May 2017 by Robert from Plymouth

    Food was not good,my steak meal went back as the meat was so tough it was inedible, the replacement wad better but still not good enough. The scampi meal was only warm and a burger was of poor quality.
    All in all as a celebration meal it was so disappointing and cost quite a lot

  • ((((( 16 April 2017 by Beryl from Plymouth

    A family reunion which was most enjoyable. Great service and lovely food,

  • ((((( 9 April 2017 by Sue from Plymouth

    Went with my husband yesterday. We were given the menu. also a separate sheet with 3 courses for 20.00, we ordered from this menu. It was lovely, could not be faulted.

  • ((((( 2 April 2017 by Mike from Swindon

    Excellent friendly service, excellent food at a reasonable price

  • (**** 14 March 2017 by Laura from Plymouth

    Our food was awful. Three of us ordered roast dinners, we received them but then we had to ask for the parsnips and the cauliflower cheese as they were missing, the cauliflower was brought out but then had to ask again for the parsnips! These finally came out but were hard and it was a good 5 mins after the cauliflower so at least 10 mins after receiving our meals. Also asked for extra gravy twice. Then ordered an extra coke which took over 10 mins to come! Ordered four deserts, 2 of our party had brownies with custard, both came out with barely luke warm custard!

    It wasn't particularly busy so I don't think there was any need for such bad service.

    We wouldn't go back to the Jack Rabbit again.

  • ((((( 13 March 2017 by Berni from Plymouth

    Food was excellent, we all had a main course, two had starters and one a pudding. Unfortunately the car park was absolutely full we literally had the last space but strangely the restaurant was only half full. Obviously there is a problem with people parking here that are not using the restaurant could a voucher system be put in place or at some stage have the car parking monitored it would be a shame if the lack of parking became a problem.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant