Reviews of The Jack in the Green

4.7
(based on 721 reviews)
London Road Rockbeare, Exeter, South West England, EX5 2EE
721 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Rashid M from Exeter
    31 July 2020

    Very enjoyable ! food really good In a beautiful place run by happy staff

  • By Stephen P from Bexhill-On-Sea
    29 July 2020

    Lovely menu, quality ingredients. Good service. The restaurant lacked ambience, No view (on road) bare table, etc., but inevitable during COVID-19. Food served well. Just a few learning opportunities. I had to ask for wine list. Mussels starter had a very salty broth and came without the crusty bread promised. Main was very nouvelle cuisine, but accompaniments too sparse - Pak Choi too limp, pea purée tiny

  • By Eric E from Exeter
    26 July 2020

    Fabulous Sunday lunch . Great to be back eating at Jack in the Green after all these months.

  • By Andrew O from Sidmouth
    26 July 2020

    A much-better-than-traditional Sunday lunch, with the best roast beef I've had for a long time - and not overcooked as Sunday roasts usually are. Service was friendly and effective, and we felt safe from seeing the care taken over cleaning and sanitising.

  • By David R from Exeter
    25 July 2020

    Great to be open agin and as good as always. Great food in a secure environment. Highly recommended

  • By Richard B from Totnes
    24 July 2020

    Just great to have the Jack in the Green back open. Went to celebrate my niece's birthday with the family. Great cocktails to start, wonderful food, and the usual excellent service. We have noticed that some of our favourite restaurants have slipped a little (perhaps not surprising) since coming out of lockdown and some of our meals have been a bit disappointing. Well, not this time. Every dish we had was fantastic, I can't remember one single complaint about any dish. Well done. Welcome back, we look forward to more meals here.

  • By Nick H from Exeter
    24 July 2020

    Fantastic meal as always, and COVID safety adhered to

  • By Clare Y from Rockbeare
    22 July 2020

    With all the new restrictions in place, I thought that the service was polite and considerate and the overall ambiance was calm and relaxed. The food quality was very good and overall there was nothing to bemoan. It was a very pleasant evening.

  • By Derek H from Newton abbot
    20 July 2020

    Very good service.no rush had loads ot time between dishes.we had the tasting menu.easy touse

  • By Sheenac P from Exeter
    19 July 2020

    Our first meal out since the lockdown and it was delicious Paul & Judy along with their enthusiastic team ensured a comfortable and friendly atmosphere in which to enjoy Sunday lunch. We highly recommend the Roast loin of pork - melt in the mouth with the added delight of crunchy crackling!! Well done all - definitely be back soon!