map placeholder

The Hedgehog

Stafford Road, Lichfield, WS13 8JB

((((* British
  • The Hedgehog - Staffordshire
  • The Hedgehog - Staffordshire
  • The Hedgehog - Staffordshire
  • The Hedgehog - Staffordshire
  • The Hedgehog - Staffordshire
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Really lovely meal. Will definitely go there again.

Sue 07 May 2019
from Burton-On-Trent

View all 80 reviews

Formerly a stately house, the tastefully refurbished The Hedgehog is now a rustic gastro-pub with old world charm. It serves traditional British pub cuisine, has an Innkeeper’s Lodge, and takes pride in its large and pretty gardens with outdoor seating. Furnished with a cosy hearth-fire, patterned red brick walls and chunky dark beams, The Hedgehog in Lichfield is an enchanting countryside pub.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Hedgehog menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Hedgehog ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

The Hedgehog is at the edge of Lichfield in Staffordshire, only 7 minutes’ drive to Lichfield Trent Valley Train Station.

The Hedgehog

Stafford Road, Lichfield, WS13 8JB

Contact +44 1543415789
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Staffordshire

See all restaurants in Lichfield

Customer reviews for The Hedgehog

4.0 ((((* (based on 80 reviews)
83% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (54)
  • lunch (40)
  • value (25)
  • large parties (18)
  • child friendly (17)
  • private dining (17)
  • al fresco (11)
  • romantic (10)
  • afternoon tea (9)
  • views (9)
  • business (7)
  • trendy (6)
  • breakfast (5)
  • luxury (5)
  • entertainment (2)
  • ((*** 28 July 2016 by Shellie from Lichfield

    Apparently there is a new menu here. Trying too hard to be a 'trendy' restaurant. Nothing on the menu particularity jumped out and some of the descriptions of food leave you wondering what it is. I ordered a brilliant description of what was a veggie burger. It came cold and had to be sent back. We all ordered salads and got chips. Now however you describe a chip on a menu these were simply thick chips. Very pale and maybe 6 in total as a portion. My friend ordered a vegetable wrap or whatever the description was. It came out looking like a burnt pasty.

  • (((** 7 June 2016 by Judy from Lichfield District

    First visit to the Hedgehog for around 15 years. Lovely setting. We had drinks first in the garden area and then went in to eat. The food and service were good and we didn't have to wait long to be served.

  • ((((( 25 May 2016 by Sharon from Birmingham

    Came here for birthday lunch food was delicious well presented, had steak it was so succulent, sweet s were lovely to. Served by a lovely lady called Anne Marie.overall had a lovely meal in very pleasant surroundings.

  • (**** 18 May 2016 by Nicola from Heath Hayes

    I would not eat here again, there is nothing wrong with the service or the place itself. But the food is not up to the standard of its environment. I had to send my steak back twice as it was over cooked or gristly. It was not a Fillet Steak I was sent and the waiter even said the second steak was a mistake. In the end I didn't eat after all the messing about. My husbands dinner was okay but not amazing.

  • (**** 18 May 2016 by Debbie from Lichfield

    Very poor
    Kept waiting for an hour and food partly cold and beef not eadable

  • ((((( 16 May 2016 by Shirley from Rugeley

    Had a lovely rump steak and a nice bottle of wine good servi e very pleasnt atmosphere !

  • ((((( 16 May 2016 by Francis from Tamworth

    Mostly good. We were expected and shown to our reserved table. Main meal was prepared and presented promptly. Had to wait (25 minutes) for dessert, so we left at that point. We were given a bottle of tap water on request, and the waiter was friendly, if a little overwhelmed by the number of people who arrived shortly after us.

  • ((((( 15 May 2016 by Jayne from Birmingham

    Lovely evening. Staff efficient and attentive, food absolutely delicious and great surroundings and atmosphere.

  • ((((* 6 May 2016 by Jackie from Cannock

    Lovely building and nice atmosphere. Good food and service. Much improve on our last visit a couple if years ago. Good booking service.

  • ((((( 5 May 2016 by Julie from Lichfield

    Can't fault it. Absolutely brilliant

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant