map placeholder

The Groes Wen Inn

Penhow, Caldicot, NP26 3AD

((((* British
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Food very good and service excellent. Enjoyed our Sunday lunch. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Beverley 13 August 2019
from Caldicot

View all 59 reviews

With fantastic views over Wentwood in South Wales and a classic design of clean white with black beams, The Groes Wen Inn in Penhow is the ideal country pub. It serves traditional and well-loved pub food, either inside by the cosy log-fire or in the al fresco garden to enjoy the view. Formerly a charming cottage, the eclectic furnishings and squashy sofas aid the feeling of hospitality.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Groes Wen Inn menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Groes Wen Inn ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

While in the peaceful country village of Penhow, The Groes Wen Inn is merely 14 minutes’ drive from Newport.

The Groes Wen Inn

Penhow, Caldicot, NP26 3AD

Contact +44 1633400978
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Newport

See all restaurants in Penhow

Customer reviews for The Groes Wen Inn

3.9 ((((* (based on 59 reviews)
86% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (39)
  • lunch (31)
  • value (19)
  • romantic (10)
  • large parties (8)
  • child friendly (7)
  • business (6)
  • afternoon tea (5)
  • private dining (5)
  • views (5)
  • luxury (2)
  • trendy (1)
  • ((((( 25 January 2016 by Claire from Undy

    Excellent food and service, would highly recommend..

  • (((** 7 January 2016 by Jean from Magor

    Took a friend for dinner on Tuesday evening food superb, waiter/ waitress polite & helpful best waiting staff in all eateries locally this & good food keeps us returning.

  • (((** 5 January 2016 by Mary from Newport

    Ok, no more than that. Young waiting staff lovely, courteous, attentive. Can't say the same about the older staff.

  • ((((( 31 December 2015 by Graham from Cheltenham

    Lovely food, very good waitress and service. Extensive menu but good value.

  • ((*** 29 December 2015 by Richard from Newport

    On arrival we were ushered straight to our table without having time to buy drinks at the bar. We ordered drinks at the table, but when they had not arrived after 20 minutes, I reminded the waitress who then brought them. I would add that neither the restaurant nor the bar were anywhere near full, so I doubt the delay was due to pressure of work.
    My meal (roast turkey) and another guests meal (beef) were both disappointing. The portion sizes were small, and whatever gravy was on the food was poured presumably in the kitchen and no gravy boat was served on the table. The volume of gravy was insufficient, so the meal was extremely, and I mean extremely, dry. This premises is only four miles from my home, but I shall not return.

  • ((((( 25 December 2015 by Paul from Coleford

    Nice food good service thanks Butch

  • ((((* 20 December 2015 by Joyce from Newtown

    07817090557

  • (**** 3 November 2015 by Christine from Newport

    The staff were very pleasant ,but out of four meals ,two were awful both hunters chicken. We were offered for them to be replaced,but we declined because our husbands had nearly finished their meals.( 1 half a chicken &1fishcake )When we paid the bill they had deducted one hunters chicken,but it spoils the evening

  • ((((* 3 November 2015 by George from Newport South Wales

    Despite being extremely busy the waitress made sure we were served as soon as possible and she was un phased by the large number of your group (14)
    The meal was of excellent quality and we felt very welcome

  • ((((* 23 August 2015 by Barbara from Newport

    Had a really nice meal in pleasant surroundings. Service was very good.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant