map placeholder

The Groes Wen Inn

Penhow, Caldicot, NP26 3AD

((((* British
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Food very good and service excellent. Enjoyed our Sunday lunch. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Beverley 13 August 2019
from Caldicot

View all 59 reviews

With fantastic views over Wentwood in South Wales and a classic design of clean white with black beams, The Groes Wen Inn in Penhow is the ideal country pub. It serves traditional and well-loved pub food, either inside by the cosy log-fire or in the al fresco garden to enjoy the view. Formerly a charming cottage, the eclectic furnishings and squashy sofas aid the feeling of hospitality.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Groes Wen Inn menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Groes Wen Inn ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

While in the peaceful country village of Penhow, The Groes Wen Inn is merely 14 minutes’ drive from Newport.

The Groes Wen Inn

Penhow, Caldicot, NP26 3AD

Contact +44 1633400978
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Newport

See all restaurants in Penhow

Customer reviews for The Groes Wen Inn

3.9 ((((* (based on 59 reviews)
86% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (39)
  • lunch (31)
  • value (19)
  • romantic (10)
  • large parties (8)
  • child friendly (7)
  • business (6)
  • afternoon tea (5)
  • private dining (5)
  • views (5)
  • luxury (2)
  • trendy (1)
  • ((((( 12 September 2016 by Heather from Caerleon

    Lovely warm welcome on arrival, very busy with all tables occupied but staff quickly took our drinks order and gave menus. Plenty of choice of meals and specials. Attentive staff, very polite and friendly.
    Thoroughly enjoyed our meals, great service and value for money.

  • ((((( 30 August 2016 by Howard from Ashford

    Waitress Faye was very friendly and helpful and although she was very busy she looked after us very well. Out of the 5 of us there was only two slight criticisms of the food. Smoked Duck starter could either do with a couple more slices or about £1.50 cheaper. I would rather the extra duck. Looked nice but no curd. Only three small cubes of Summer Pudding and an orange segment cut up into small pieces. Other comment is about the Sherry Trifle. Couldn't taste the Sherry and splashed my Rioja in there to taste. Every other dish was superb in our party. Slightly disappointed to see the cauliflower cheese and the onion rings gone from the menu. Next time we travel down from Kent we'll be back again. My kids don't want to eat anywhere else in this area.

  • (**** 9 August 2016 by David from Newport

    The food was excellent as was the waiter who was fantastic. The dining experience would have been great apart from the Jazz band. When I booked online if it had said live jazz band I would have not dined with you.

    We came with friends from Holland for a quiet evening but the band was so loud we had to shout to hear each other and in the end we rushed our food so that we could leave as quickly as possible.

    We have often dined here in the past and have loved the menu and the staff are always lovely but if the band is going to be a regular feature we will head elsewhere.

    Even the waiter was unable to hear our order and in the end it was a case of pointing to what we wanted.

    Very disappointed.

  • ((((( 7 August 2016 by Barbara from Newport

    Nice ambience for lunch with friends. The usual waiter George is brilliant and can't do enough for you.

  • ((((* 17 July 2016 by Barbara from Newport

    Nice ambiance, too 4 family members with us and they were very impressed

  • ((((* 3 June 2016 by Sara from Cardiff

    Everything is always perfect great staff and food is always fresh and hot
    One of our favourite places to eat

  • ((((* 25 May 2016 by David from Chepstow

    Good food reasonably priced in a friendly atmosphere

  • (((** 7 May 2016 by Annette from Newport

    Steak was overcooked , fritter was tasteless

  • ((((* 12 April 2016 by Frank from Newport

    Was very good except the fact that they were not expecting us. They had no knowledge of the booking!!!
    The food was excellent.

  • ((((( 28 January 2016 by Barbara from Newport

    Very relaxed and enjoyable lunch with plenty of choice.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant