map placeholder

The Groes Wen Inn

Penhow, Caldicot, NP26 3AD

((((* British
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
  • The Groes Wen Inn - Newport
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £25
Opening hours
Monday to Saturday: 12:00 - 23:00
Sunday: 12:00 - 22:30

Food very good and service excellent. Enjoyed our Sunday lunch. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Beverley 13 August 2019
from Caldicot

View all 59 reviews

With fantastic views over Wentwood in South Wales and a classic design of clean white with black beams, The Groes Wen Inn in Penhow is the ideal country pub. It serves traditional and well-loved pub food, either inside by the cosy log-fire or in the al fresco garden to enjoy the view. Formerly a charming cottage, the eclectic furnishings and squashy sofas aid the feeling of hospitality.

Hearty Sunday roasts and trusty British dishes head The Groes Wen Inn menu, and a range just for kids offers mini versions of pub favourites. Signature Vintage pies offer fillings like beef & merlot with buttered peas, while The Groes Wen Inn ‘Vintage classics’ menu includes lemon & garlic-roasted chicken with seasoned chips.

Paying homage to the Great British pub, the Vintage Inn bar stock includes cask-conditioned beers, real ales and a meticulously compiled wine list. Thirst-quenching offerings include seasonal non-alcoholic cocktails and freshly-pressed juices, and rich coffee is brewed freshly throughout the day.

While in the peaceful country village of Penhow, The Groes Wen Inn is merely 14 minutes’ drive from Newport.

The Groes Wen Inn

Penhow, Caldicot, NP26 3AD

Contact +44 1633400978
Website

Make a booking

See all Vintage Inns

See all restaurants in Newport

See all restaurants in Penhow

Customer reviews for The Groes Wen Inn

3.9 ((((* (based on 59 reviews)
86% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((((*
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((()
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (39)
  • lunch (31)
  • value (19)
  • romantic (10)
  • large parties (8)
  • child friendly (7)
  • business (6)
  • afternoon tea (5)
  • private dining (5)
  • views (5)
  • luxury (2)
  • trendy (1)
  • ((((( 15 March 2017 by Tina from Newport

    Gorgeous food , friendly staff very .

  • ((((( 10 February 2017 by Nicola from Chepstow

    Fantastic staff were so helpful. Nothing too much trouble . Food was delicious...definitely recommend and return again

  • ((((( 29 January 2017 by Sian from Usk

    Had a lovely three course meal. Excellent waitress. Food superb. Fantastic night.

  • ((((( 14 January 2017 by Kate from Newport

    Excellent service and food

  • ((((* 8 January 2017 by Paula from Newport

    Taken to our table very quickly, even though we were early, acknowledged by our server even though she was busy with another table. Served within a reasonable time scale, the food was amazing and staff were pleasant- overall a good dining experience.

  • ((((* 14 November 2016 by Deb from Newport

    Great meal and service , I had the duck and it was excellent. Well done

  • ((((* 25 October 2016 by Gillian from Abercarn

    Very nice meal always consistently good. Service efficient and friendly.

  • ((((( 10 October 2016 by Lawrence from Newport

    Food was excellent but lacked on the drinks

  • ((*** 7 October 2016 by Paul from Caerleon

    Luckily having eaten here before which i couldn't fault,I hope this was a one off experience! Almost an hour waiting for food,only main course ordered,when we received our lunch the potatoes weren't cooked and the cauliflower cheese was nice but if the cauliflower was cooked it would of been even better!! The platter for two my children would of eaten which for close enough too £25 was a rip off!! And the cheek too charge £5 for 3 extra roast potatoes hmm...being a chef I know how much a sack of potatoes cost so that was a bit cheeky. Hopefully this was a one off as the groes wen is a lovely place and usually has much higher standards

  • ((((( 6 October 2016 by Matthew from Newport

    Excellent service waitress so friendly & helpful. I did feel sorry for her using a phone for ordering & looking up info as it was so small & she had to trawl through screens. Food was also excellent.

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant