map placeholder

The Great Chase

No 316, St.John Street, Clerkenwell, EC1V 4NT

(((() British
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
  • The Great Chase - London
Opening hours
Wednesday: 17:30 - 22:30
Thursday to Saturday: 11:00 - 15:00 & 17:30 - 22:30
Sunday: 11:00 - 17:00.

Food was great and service was brilliant. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Muhammad 31 May 2019
from London

View all 136 reviews

The Great Chase has a look that blends the antique and the modern, with rustic touches and wood block tables. Using the finest meats, seasonal game, seafood, and vegetables, contemporary twists are added to traditional favourites.

Head chef Radek Nitkowski (formerly of Dean Street Town House and Cambridge street Kitchen) brings fine food and excellent eating to unpretentious surroundings. With dishes like the free-range chicken breast with asparagus, croquettes and spicy miso aioli, or the mozzarella, heritage tomato, Ogliarola olive oil and pistachio, the compact Great Chase menu shows off a strong British core with pan-global influences, summing up the essence of multicultural London.

The pedigree of the kitchen at Great Chase London is backed up by a non-alcoholic bar that serves an excellent collection of fine teas. Cordial alchemist and sommelier William Wragg spins his magic to create some surprisingly punchy alcohol-free concoctions. The Tayberry Spritz, made with a Tayberry and Rose cordial (courtesy of the Gimlet bar, and made using ingredients from their own garden) and the Bees Knees Fizz, made with black pepper and lavender vinegar mist are particular favourites.

Find The Great Chase Clerkenwell a 6-minute walk from Angel Tube Station.

The Great Chase

No 316, St.John Street, Clerkenwell, EC1V 4NT

Contact +44 2079980640
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in London

See all restaurants in City of London

Customer reviews for The Great Chase

4.6 (((() (based on 136 reviews)
95% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food (((()
  • Value (((()
  • Ambience (((()
  • Location (((()
  • Service (((((
  • Drinks (((()

Recommended for

  • dinner (110)
  • lunch (69)
  • trendy (57)
  • romantic (50)
  • value (32)
  • breakfast (31)
  • private dining (30)
  • child friendly (28)
  • luxury (26)
  • business (17)
  • afternoon tea (16)
  • entertainment (10)
  • large parties (10)
  • al fresco (7)
  • views (4)
  • ((((( 1 January 2019 by Ummer from London

    Fantastic knowledge and service from this restaurant. Highly recommend this place for fine dining. The Cornflakes Ice-cream was divine. The wide range of non-alcoholic cocktails were also great. Can't wait to go back.

  • ((((( 31 December 2018 by Catherine from Maidstone

    Lovely place. I managed to find a restaurant with a Dry Bar without even trying. Their drinks are amazing and selection of Teas

  • ((((( 31 December 2018 by Suleman from Leicester

    Food was excellent. Enjoyed every bite I took. Well presented. Good portions. Ingredients used was to my satisfaction. Great taste

    Great fine dining. Loved the drinks

  • ((((* 29 December 2018 by Terry from London

    Had an excellent pre ballet dinner here, the service was friendly and warm, the food was inventive, interesting and freshly cooked. The mock cocktails were an education and delicious and overall it was a delightful meal served with honesty and passion, would definitely recommend.

  • ((((* 29 December 2018 by Haseeb from London

    The restaurant was smaller than I expected. However, the service and food was fantastic! Also, the restaurants size made the atmosphere cosey and enjoyable. We will be going back again!

  • ((((( 27 December 2018 by Rosita from London

    Loved the Sunday roast. The lamb was so tender that the meat easily fell off the bone. It is halal and serves unique non-alcoholic beverages.

  • ((((* 26 December 2018 by Nizam from London

    Excellent Sunday Roast, great portion sizes, well cooked, halal meat. Beef was a superb choice. Service was good, we were seated in a relatively spacious table area and enjoyed the overall ambience. Prayer area available as well.

  • ((((( 23 December 2018 by Juliana from Watford

    Love the food and ambience. Excellent and friendly service too!

  • ((((( 21 December 2018 by Sandy from London

    Our food was delicious. The service was great. And the fact that you can drink as much as you want without worrying - because there is no alcohol served - is a great, unique selling point!
    Portions were very generous - we didn't have a starter as we really fancied the crumble for dessert and we were not disappointed! The chicken dish I had was so tasty yet so different - there was a cold chestnut cream married perfectly with the hot chicken and mushrooms. It was a most unusual combination - hot & cold with different flavours and textures - but it worked perfectly. My husband had the lamb and loved it, too.
    The crumble is, so we were told, their "signature" dish and the additions change according to the season - as this was winter time, we had cranberries with apple & pear. Honestly, it was one of the best crumbles we've tasted. And it certainly was freshly made - it was 100% like a "homemade" crumble.
    We can't wait to go back!

  • ((((( 11 December 2018 by Isobel from Helensburgh

    We had the pre theatre menu before going to see Swan Lake at Sadlers Wells. It was a great start to a wonderful experience. The restaurant is alcohol free and we really enjoyed the aperitifs - so refreshing- didn’t miss wine at all. The food was lovely served with a friendly smile and it was very good value (an uncommon occurrence in London!)

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant