Reviews of The Golden Heart in Winterbourne Down

3.9
(based on 44 reviews)
Down Road Winterbourne Down, Bristol, BS36 1AU
44 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Katy D from Bristol
    31 December 2019

    Booked a table for new year's eve and had the best time. Food and cocktails were lovely and service excellent will definitely book for next year

  • By Shelley B from Bristol
    11 July 2019

    Amazing service and a fabulous 100th birthday lunch for my Gran

  • By Lisa O from Bristol
    19 December 2018

    Our server Jo was great!

  • By Colin M from Bristol
    25 November 2018

    Nice restaurant however the food ordered was received barely warm served on cold plates very disappointing I’m affraid

  • By Linda E from Bristol
    24 November 2018

    Very disappointed, the only table available was at 8.45 5pm, thought it was a little late for eating but decided to go a head with booking. We arrived a little early, at 8,45 they told us they were clearing the table, at 9.15 are table still wasn't ready the previous booking was just finishing off.when the previous booking were leaving they said they were going to complain because they waited an hour for there food, and were being ask to leave for next booking.

  • By ALAN S from BRISTOL
    18 August 2018

    WE WERE BOOKED FOR A NICE ROUND TABLE FOR A PARTY OF SIX WHICH WAS WHAT WE GOT - GREAT! UNFORTUNATELY A FAIRLY LONG WAIT BEFORE WE PUT OUR ORDERS IN, PEOPLE WAITING AT THE ENTRANCE TO THE RESTAURANT AREA SO WE KNEW IT WAS GOING TO BE BUSY. WHEN ORDERING THE STARTERS WE WERE TOLD THE RELISH WAS NO LONGER AVAILABLE TO GO WITH THE BRIE, AGAIN FAIRLY LONG WAIT FOR THEM TO ARRIVE WHICH WE EXPECTED. BY THE TIME WE ORDERED THE MAINS THERE WAS ALSO NO SEA BASS AVAILABLE SO A FEW OF US ORDERED COD INSTEAD, WHEN IT ARRIVED THERE WERE NO CHIPS AS THEY HAD NOW RUN OUT OF POTATOES AND COULD ONLY OFFER US SWEET POTATO FRIES INSTEAD, THE DAUPHINOISE WAS ALSO MADE WITH SQUASH AND IT REALLY DIDN'T WORK IN OUR OPINION. ON A POSITIVE NOTE THE FOOD WE HAD WAS NICELY PRESENTED AND GOOD QUALITY, THE STAFF WERE LOVELY AND VERY HELPFUL SO NO PROBLEMS THERE. THE AMBIENCE WAS LIVELY AND THE PUB IS MUCH NICER SINCE THE REFURBISHMENT. NEXT TIME WE GO (WHICH WE WILL) WE'LL BOOK EARLIER TO HOPEFULLY GET A FULL MENU OPTION. JUST BE PREPARED TO WAIT A WHILE ON BUSY EVENINGS - AT WEEKENDS ESPECIALLY.

  • By Jane F from Bristol
    30 March 2018

    Food was good. I had the lobster and crab cakes which were delicious. Also we did not have to wait long which has been an issue in the past. Service was good with very pleasant and helpful staff. Our friends that were with us have eaten at the Golden Heart in the past but it was their first time since the refurb. They felt that the pub had lost some of its character, particularly the bar area where the lights are not at all in keeping with the rest of the décor. The chairs on our particular table seemed too low for the table (even the two men who are 6 footers!) and it seemed very noisy which made it hard to talk to each other. Admittedly, it was Good Friday and quite busy but the lack of carpet and soft furnishings doesn't help.

  • By Karen S from Bristol
    10 November 2017

    The resturant was laid out beautifully , staff attentive and the food superb !

  • By Michael A from Bristol
    8 October 2017

    Very disappointing indeed the table was over 30 mins late the food was well below par and the waiting staff inattentive

  • By Rachel C from Bristol
    19 August 2017

    Good welcome from friendly bar staff. Welcome from restaurant staff good too. Staff were very friendly and had time to make us feel they were listening and joining in with us in a joke. Food serve to us was good quality and flavours were excellent. All round good, relaxing and enjoyable evening out. Thank you.