Guide MICHELIN 2020

Reviews of The Gilbert Scott

4.3
(based on 347 reviews)
St Pancras Renaissance Hotel, London, NW1 2AR
347 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By James B from London
    14 January 2020

    Modestly priced offer menu which was excellent. Friendly staff

  • By Brian S from London
    14 January 2020

    Fantastic setting - Possibly a mistake to go for the 'special offer/set menu' but food was not as great as previous experiences from the a la carte menu. Also surcharges and additional costs for vegetables spoils 'the offer'. Great wine list and perfect for a special occasion.

  • By Jasmine S from Rushden Northants
    9 December 2019

    I booked this table to take my husband for a special treat for his birthday (which is actually on election day but this was the nearest we could manage). I should say that from start to finish the whole event was a delight and he enjoyed himself so much he is talking about celebrating there again at the first opportunity! We were welcomed by a friendly bar man, and then after a drink we were again welcomed by the reception staff who took our coats and heavy bags and showed us to our table. The waiting staff were helpful, attentive but not oppressive. The food was excellent and served with the right amount of alacrity, without being hurried. It was hot where necessary and uniformly tasty and well prepared. My husband had the rib eye steak and said that the way it was prepared with a peppercorn sauce was out of this world. I had the duck breast which was equally perfect. Our starters were the burrata cheese and the duck liver pate both of which were exceptional. I have two /very small/ quibbles about the occasion: In the booking details it promised a free glass of champagne - which would have been nice but was nowhere offered. This may be partly my fault but I didn't think to mention it at the time and it was not until afterwards I remembered that detail. The second small quibble was that my husband was asked what he would like to drink when we walked in and said he would like a kir (white wine and cassis) very common as an aperitif in places on the continent, but apparently totally unknown to the bar attendant who welcomed us. My husband changed his order to gin and tonic quite happily, but it was not a good start... However things looked up as soon as we reached the restaurant and we could not have been happier with the service, the ambience, the food, the wine - or indeed anything! Thank you. I had eaten here before, twice, for dinner with a friend, but it was my husband's first time.

  • By Emine salih S from London
    30 November 2019

    Cod was salty. No acknowledgement that the booking was for a birthday

  • By Moira B from London
    28 November 2019

    We dined with friends and had the set menu. All food was really good. Two of us ordered the bream and it was beautifully cooked. Particularly enjoyed the salmon starter. Vegetarian main dish was apparently delicious. All presented well. Building is fabulous. We went very early just as the restaurant opened. Lots of staff sorting out the start of evening service. Staff attentive but not overly so. We all managed to laugh when our starters were dropped by the waiter. A second lot came very quickly. Our waiter was very obliging in making sure our food arrived smoothly and swiftly as we had a train to catch. Pleasant eating experience all round.

  • By Lynn A from London
    25 November 2019

    Another fab Marcus restaurant. Faultless food & friendly impeccable service. We’ll definitely be back soon.

  • By Ben C from London
    20 November 2019

    The dining room at the Gilbert Scott is impressive and elegant, and overall the food was lovely - as was the service. The caramelised onion soup with gruyere on toast is an excellent starter, and the pheasant stew a real treat on a cold night. The fish cooked beautifully. the desserts were excellent. The cherry bakewell was magnificent. The pears lovely. The only let down? The vegetables. Lukewarm gratin dauphinois (not quite cold enough to send back), and bland and boring buttered vegetables (cabbage). But a lovely lovely visit.

  • By Elaine D from London
    18 November 2019

    Restaurant lacked ambiance. The food was very average & the Apple crumble I chose for desert was so hard I left it in fear of cracking a tooth.

  • By John G from Sandwich
    13 November 2019

    The table service and food were excellent and I would recommend the set menu for value for money. The dining room and setting are probably one of the best in London.

  • By Vasos G from Kings cross
    12 November 2019

    Excellent