map placeholder

The George & Dragon - Epping

208 High Street, Epping, CM16 4AQ

((((* British
  •  - Essex
  • The George & Dragon - Epping - Essex
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
  •  - Essex
  • The George & Dragon - Epping - Essex
  • The George & Dragon - Epping - Essex
  • The George & Dragon - Epping - Essex
  • The George & Dragon - Epping - Essex
  • The George & Dragon - Epping - Essex
  • The George & Dragon - Epping - Essex
  • The George & Dragon - Epping - Essex
  • The George & Dragon - Epping - Essex
  •  - Essex
  • The George & Dragon - Epping - Essex
Average
Main course: £12
Food spend: £28
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday: 10:30 - 23:00
Friday & Saturday: 10:30 - 00:00
Sunday: 10:00 - 22:30.

The staff were excellent, the food very good. I would highly recommend to anyone to go for a meal.

Phil 27 August 2019
from Erith

View all 42 reviews

A refurbished pub with a spacious dining area, The George & Dragon – Epping serves a menu of modern British cuisine with Mediterranean influences. With barrel-top tables, monochromatic armchairs & fireplaces warming it, the pub is a homey country-style retreat.

With chefs given the opportunity to train at cookery schools in Spain and Italy, The George & Dragon menu features modern signature recipes made using the finest ingredients. As well as creative daily-changing specials, favourites include king prawn, crab and chorizo linguine, or spit-roasted chicken with lemon & garlic confit. A kids’ menu and Sunday roasts also feature, and desserts include rich vanilla and chocolate gelato with home-baked cookies.

The result of a treasured partnership with Rothschild wine merchants, the cellar showcases many fine wines, while token real ales and premium spirits are found at The George & Dragon bar. Nostalgic British nibbles and sharing platters bursting with international flavours offer more laidback dining.

The George & Dragon – Epping in Essex is a 12-minute walk from Epping Tube Station.

The George & Dragon - Epping

208 High Street, Epping, CM16 4AQ

Contact +44 1992579493
Website

Make a booking

See all restaurants in Essex

See all restaurants in Epping

Customer reviews for The George & Dragon - Epping

3.9 ((((* (based on 42 reviews)
78% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((((*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((()*
  • Drinks ((((*

Recommended for

  • dinner (26)
  • lunch (23)
  • value (9)
  • large parties (6)
  • romantic (6)
  • child friendly (5)
  • trendy (4)
  • business (3)
  • private dining (3)
  • afternoon tea (2)
  • entertainment (2)
  • al fresco (1)
  • luxury (1)
  • (((** 18 December 2015 by Barbara from Ongar

    Good menu selection. We both chose the lobster and had a side salad as extra.
    Lobster very good and the chips amazing!
    Finished the meal with a mini dessert and tea, very good value.
    Unfortunately no sparkling water was available.

  • ((((( 15 December 2015 by Ben from Loughton

    Went with friends. Lovely venue, very festive with friendly staff. Food was amazing and would definitely recommend

  • ((((* 24 November 2015 by Joy from Lakenheat

    On arrival they had no record of us booking, even though we had a verification e mail from them! However they fitted us in and the food and service was excellent

  • ((((( 26 October 2015 by Delilah from North Chingford

    Love The George and Dragon in Epping, the pumpkin and amaretti spiro pasta is totally gorgeous!

  • ((((* 24 March 2015 by Jo from Epping

    The food was very tasty /excellent valie for money / service with a smile - nothing too much trouble/ everyone around the table (8) enjoyed the experience.

  • ((((( 11 February 2015 by Marion from Epping

    We had a lovely meal at the restaurant on Sunday. All three courses very good, I especially enjoyed the roast pork with all the trimmings,
    couldn't fault it! Service also welcoming and very friendly.

  • ((*** 30 August 2014 by Brian from Chelmsford

    Very disappointing. My wife has eaten here on a number of occasions for lunch so we decided to bring a visitor to the UK here. Food was mediocre and we did not get rare lamb as ordered, and only 1 thin stick of asparagus. The crumble and creme brûlée were burnt on the top and the service poor and unwelcoming. After waiting for a few minutes on arrival for a waitress to appear, we were told that the kitchen closed at 8.45 (although she was then slow in taking an order). No mention of this was made on the booking service and later times were apparently available.

  • ((((( 20 March 2014 by Judy from London

    It was a lovely evening with friends, very nice atmosphere and a good night had by all

  • ((((( 18 February 2014 by Demetrakis from Epping

    This was a very impressive valentines dinner with great service a nice ambience and friendly staff. The menu was good & the food was served hot and was cooked to perfection.
    I would highly recommend the george & dragon in Epping For anyone wanting a great eating experience..... Jim & Teresa

  • ((*** 31 May 2013 by Elsa from Epping

    Very expensive for just me and my two sons

Nearly done! Please enter your details

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Your Contact Details

  • Name:
  • Email:
  • Phone:
Change
* required
Please enter your first name
Please enter your last name
Please enter a valid email
Please enter a valid phone number

Please email me the latest promotions and deals from

By completing this booking, you are accepting Bookatable’s Privacy Policy and Terms associated with it.

Booking

Booking confirmed

An email confirmation has been sent to beth.thomas@bookatable.com

  • Guests:
  • Date:
  • Time:
  • Menu:
Change Booking reference:

Restaurant details

Book this restaurant again Close and return to restaurant

Sorry!

There was an error completing your booking.
This table is no longer available or cannot be booked at this time. Please search for a new table.

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant