map placeholder

The Gateway Restaurant

Sodexo Prestige , Arboretum Place, Edinburgh, EH3 5NZ

((()* European
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
  •  - Edinburgh
Average
Main course: £10
Food spend: £19
Opening hours
Monday to Friday: 09:30 - 18:00
Saturday & Sunday: 09:00 - 18:00

Good food. Service a bit slow but it was busy as it’s popular especially on Sunday.

Simon 27 November 2017
from Edinburgh

View all 20 reviews

Amidst the beautiful Royal Botanic Gardens in Edinburgh, The Gateway Restaurant is a unique eatery in the impressive John Hope Gateway building. Boasting stunning al fresco dining, Scottish touches can be found throughout The Gateway’s breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea menus.

Natural light streams into The Gateway Restaurant, with tall windows, a unique panelled ceiling and clean wooden styling. It’s a convivial spot to start the day with a full Scottish breakfast, espresso and pastries, or even a stack of Scotch pancakes.

At lunchtime, try Scottish steak burgers or lamb koftas, or Grampian chicken escalope. Elsewhere on the Gateway Restaurant menu, tempting sharing platters offer a choice of seafood, vegetarian or continental fare, while desserts of dark chocolate trifle and coconut and saffron semolina are delicious and different.

Garden cream teas can be taken with a glass of champagne, or one of a range of delicate infusions, with an array of tempting cakes and scones to enjoy until sunset. The Gateway Restaurant in Edinburgh is a 6-minute drive from Waverley Train Station.

The Gateway Restaurant

Sodexo Prestige , Arboretum Place, Edinburgh, EH3 5NZ

Contact +44 1315522674
Website

See all restaurants in Edinburgh

See all restaurants in Edinburgh West End

Customer reviews for The Gateway Restaurant

3.4 ((()* (based on 20 reviews)
70% of diners recommend this restaurant
  • Food ((()*
  • Value ((()*
  • Ambience ((((*
  • Location (((()
  • Service ((((*
  • Drinks ((()*

Recommended for

  • lunch (10)
  • views (10)
  • child friendly (9)
  • afternoon tea (5)
  • breakfast (5)
  • al fresco (4)
  • dinner (3)
  • business (2)
  • private dining (2)
  • large parties (1)
  • ((((( 19 April 2016 by Linda from Edinburgh

    The staff were very efficient, friendly and attentive. The food was good.

  • (**** 10 March 2016 by Susan from Edinburgh

    Afternoon tea was very good , unfortunately the service wasn't . We asked for water and got a jug of water with no glasses . Eventually the glasses arrived , 7 instead of the 8 we asked for . Staff tried to take our crockery away before we had finished because they were short of dishes. Only three cups were brought for 4 of us having tea. Each time we had to remind staff and wait for the service. I found this very poor. We won't be back again .

  • ((((* 26 December 2015 by Carme from Edinburgh

    The experience was very good!

  • (((** 20 May 2014 by Steph from Edinburgh

    Lovely location. Very attentive service. Good variety of food. Tasty dishes.

  • ((((* 23 October 2013 by Jonathan from Edinburgh

    Very nice staff & excellent food. having had a poor experience in February this visit has totally redeemed them!

  • (((** 14 August 2013 by Barbara from Edinburgh

    The service was very poor. Our initial drinks order took twenty minutes to arrive. A subsequent request for a glass of wine had to be repeated -forcefully- after fifteen minutes. We ordered dessert and coffee, but the coffee arrived first .When we asked, we were told by the waitress that we ought to have had our ice cream and THEN ordered coffee. The restaurant was not full, so the waiting staff were not overburdened. The food was quite good - the ice cream was excellent. The spinach and broccoli soup was rather over-peppered, which masked the flavour of the vegetables. The view into the Botanics is of course wonderful, but didn't quite make up for the service.

  • (((** 17 February 2013 by Mummy from Edinburgh

    We were there at 12 on a Saturday. Service was very fast, almost 2 fast as you suspected food had been heated in the microwave. That being said, it was great for my very impatient 22 month old daughter! The children's menu was fantastic value. the food was fine and i would go back because of the service, the children's menu and the setting. advisable to book as it got busy later on.

  • ((((* 3 January 2013 by ring from Edinburgh

    It was a great place to go with the family. The children's menu is really reasonable and the food is good. The location is fantastic.

  • (**** 28 December 2012 by Botanics from Dunfermline

    We had booked our table for a celebratory family meal on Christmas Eve and were extremely disappointed. Some of the tables were beautifully decorated but we were led to a very plain bare table, waitress seemed V rushed and disinterested. Our food was cold when it arrived and even though we could see our drinks on the bar we had to wait even after pointing this out to the staff! No apology about the cold food and waitress tried to clear the table before we had all finished eating our meal.

  • ((*** 29 October 2011 by Sally from Edinburgh

    We have enjoyed being there before. this visit was truly dreadful. Children ran around our table, the food was inedilbe, and the waiting staff didnt have a clue. Very disappointing. Two elderly people in party asked to leave early as they couldn't hear a thing. children should be asked to behave - or their parents should. roast beef was so tough, i couldn't cut it.

Unfortunately, you can't book The Gateway Restaurant online on this site

Nearby restaurants

Book this restaurant