Reviews of The Gate

3.8
(based on 43 reviews)
Rickmansworth Road Chorley Wood, Rickmansworth, East of England, WD3 5SQ
43 Reviews
Sorted by: Most recent
  • By Jackie N from Kings Langley
    23 February 2020

    I actually booked the table for three family members who were visiting from Jersey. They were over the moon and could not speak highly enough. Although very busy on Sunday they said everything was fantastic!

  • By Michael P from Rickmansworth
    11 January 2020

    Food was fine. Limited menu and both the rump and fillet steak were no longer on menu and we arrived at 11:45 which was disappointing

  • By John C from Chesham
    16 December 2019

    Good food and good service and nice atmosphere.

  • By Evelyne B from Watford
    12 August 2019

    Lovely restaurant, kind and attentive staff, good choice of dishes but low on salads, they should add more of those on their menu as they used to

  • By DIANA WILSON W from CHORLEYWOOD, HERTS
    17 May 2019

    Not a brilliant experience. Love the place but the new menu really has not hit the note. I chose the tagine, which was served cold. When I commented was told it is meant to be warm. I have never eaten a tagine warm. Why take off food that works and replace with flounce.

  • By Janina P from Northwood
    11 May 2019

    Disappointingly although we booked for 5.30 two dishes had already sold out and one had only one serving left, reducing our choice. service a little too slow.

  • By Peter B from St Albans herts
    27 April 2019

    Lovely meal,plenty of choices even a Vegan menu. Friendly service. Great value . Would recommend

  • By Mark J from Iver
    8 February 2019

    First time visit , great food , super beer, excellent friendly staff , will definitely be coming back

  • By Steve D from Croxley
    24 May 2018

    Understaffed

  • By Marion J from High Wycombe
    14 April 2018

    I love visiting the gate and have done so for many years. I was very disappointed during this visit to find that the restaurant was understaffed. The staff that were there were training or exceedingly busy. Sitting outside our table as well as many others spent a long time waiting for someone to take in order even though we were told it would be taken outside. The staff didn’t clear table, they weren’t wiped and even though we sat at a table with dirty plates they still weren’t cleared. The food was good but the experience certainly wasn’t as good as I have had in the past and it has made me think whether I would Visit again.