The Greenway Hotel and Spa

(26 Reviews)
Shurdington, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, GL51 4UG
British, Afternoon Tea

Restaurant description

Serving flavoursome dishes brimming with imagination and innovation, The Garden Room's modern British cuisine draws from the best of local produce. Awarded 3 AA Rosettes, the refined menu is served in the stunning oak-panelled restaurant, which boasts views out to the Cotswold Hills beyond the sculptured gardens.

Customer reviews for The Greenway Hotel and Spa
4.7
(based on 26 reviews)

96%
of diners recommend this restaurant

  • Food
  • Drinks
  • Ambience
  • Service
  • Value
  • Location

Recommended for

  • afternoon tea (14)
  • al fresco (4)
  • breakfast (10)
  • business (4)
  • child friendly (1)
  • dinner (15)
  • entertainment (1)
  • large parties (1)
  • lunch (5)
  • luxury (11)
  • private dining (6)
  • romantic (13)
  • trendy (2)
  • value (5)
  • views (5)
  • By Teresa H from Gloucestershire
    8 November 2019

    Lovely relaxing afternoon tea though scones were still a little frozen in the middle

  • By Charlie R from Birmingham
    15 October 2019

    The food was truly amazing. The staff were able to explain each dish and the little extra complimentary tasters were sensational. We would love to dine there again

  • By Jennifer H from Cheltenham
    13 October 2019

    Superb quality food

  • By Charlotte T from Midlands
    12 October 2019

    My friend and I were a bit perplexed as to why the tea was served as teabags and also with no description of the tea verbally or in the menu. Together with quite hard water this didn’t make a very good cup of tea. We both thought this was quite central to an afternoon tea menu and would return if it had been better. The cakes and scones were very nice.

  • By Stephen H from Gloucester
    23 September 2019

    Really enjoyed it, a lovely place

  • By Keith W from Brixham
    14 September 2019

    Fabulous, exceeded our expectations in every way. A proper dining experience at exceptional value. Wife loved that we could park easily too - saves the heels apparently! Great food with choices to suit everyone, lovely pre dinner nibbles and chilled bubbly, excellent cheerful service from everyone, and lovely surroundings. We were surprised at the bill in a good way too - exceptional value. Would be a great venue for a special meal and the hotel has a good spa too & is close to Cheltenham so would make for a good weekend treat too. Outstanding all round.

  • By June H from Cirencester
    1 September 2019

    Excellent service. All staff extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The afternoon tea was delicious. Excellent choice of sandwiches.

  • By Elysse V from Brussels
    7 August 2019

    Tasty and fresh food, balanced. Good list of wines. Friendly atmosphere with smiling and helpful staff.

  • By Roger C C from Bristol
    2 August 2019

    The ambiance of the restaurant, plus the hotel & grounds in general, is lovely. The price of the 3 course lunch menu is very good, especially as it comes with nice breads and an amuse bouche. Bar prices, on the other hand, are extortionate. Over £10 for a Pimms and Lemonade was excessive, especially as one of them was under sized, being served in a smaller glass (with no explanation). The lamb main course was a disappointment. Fatty, tasteless and accompanied with a couple of unpleasant tasting pastes that didn’t suit the dish at all. All other dishes (amuse bouche, starters, the other mains and deserts) were first class. Service was acceptable but not quite matching the ambiance of the restaurant or quality of food. Coffee and tea is an additional £4.50 per head (again, a little excessive) and advertised as coming with ‘a chocolate’. On both occasions that we have dined here the chocolate hasn’t been provided until we asked. Overall, not quite such a good experience as our previous visit but we shall definitely return.

  • By Alison W from Cheltenham
    30 July 2019

    Our afternoon tea was delightful. A comfortable, charming venue with excellent service and really delicious, well presented food.

Restaurant Location Map
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
Shurdington, Cheltenham, Gloucestershire, GL51 4UG